Opinion VICBias - Genuine Discussion

The biggest Victorian club (relatively speaking) in the history of the game was the Dees. They had a mass following, they were the establishment club, their crowds were enormous.

By 1964 they had 12 flags, if not the most, then right up there.
Sounds like South Adelaide here. They went from wooden spooners in 1963 to premiers in 1964. The future looked bright, then crickets...

Perhaps they should merge with Melbourne .... South Melbourne? The Demon Panthers

The OP is all over the shop starting with the entire premise that interstate teams joined the VFL. That isn't what happened. A whole new league was formed when the VFL ended and AFL was born. Why can't Victorians get that?

We joined the VFL didn’t we?

NEVER going to be an even or equal competition when you have 18 teams and only 25 million people in one country PERIOD !!!
Cities overseas have up to 20 million people and only 1 team, how can we justify 10 teams in one city ?
We have precedents in Fitzroy and Sth Melb...yes it sucks for the supporters of those teams, but each has seen multiple premierships since moving out of Melb. Would they have seen them, let alone play in GF's if they stayed in Melb? Likely No.

Sounds like South Adelaide here. They went from wooden spooners in 1963 to premiers in 1964. The future looked bright, then crickets...

Perhaps they should merge with Melbourne .... South Melbourne? The Demon Panthers

The Dees still own half of the highest ever attendance at a home and away game - with Collingwood - of 99,256.

Amazing decline on and off field.

NEVER going to be an even or equal competition when you have 18 teams and only 25 million people in one country PERIOD !!!
Cities overseas have up to 20 million people and only 1 team, how can we justify 10 teams in one city ?
We have precedents in Fitzroy and Sth Melb...yes it sucks for the supporters of those teams, but each has seen multiple premierships since moving out of Melb. Would they have seen them, let alone play in GF's if they stayed in Melb? Likely No.

North won two flags after our twins on the other side of the river in South Melbourne went to Sydney.

Fitzroy were going to merge with the Dogs.

Dogs have won a flag since.

So that proves you wrong.

WA teams do have to travel more. Fact. And that makes things uneven

The COVID thing has shown us that what was thought impossible is actually very possible.

Why couldn't the fixture be set so each WA (and SA etc) team plays like six home games in a row, then comes to Victoria to play six in a row. While Freo is at home, West Coast are in Vic. Yes, it is unwieldy, but you the idea.

That means only two flights rather than 12 (in theory)

This year shows how flexible the AFL can be when it needs to.

That's one way to reduce a major inequity without killing off clubs coz Viccos suck and that mate.

It would be easy mate, money talks and if anyone put a breakaway league together it would have to be done with an endless pit of money that can be used to stop any other comp excelling. Richmond offer Dustin Martin a million per season, breakaway league offer him 2 million. It's a no brainer where he would play.
Any breakaway would be have to be about getting all the best players in the breakaway comp, colours, jumpers etc etc all get sorted out down the track if compromise occurs. Either way money will triumph and as much as I love that the Vics love their sport and how they support sport they would also gravitate to where the best players are, they may try and hold on to tradition and history but it would just be time.
Anyway, it won't happen as no one has the money to do it. But it certainly could happen if someone did and wanted to do it.

Well sure, if the non Vic league has a bottomless pit of money, then they could do whatever they like.

But most likely, the Vic comp would probably have more money.

Richmond played 1 top four team interstate last year

we played all four interstate.
Cmon mate. You can argue better than this. It’s a bit hard for us to do that when Collingwood, Geelong and Richmond are three of the top four teams. And Brisbane is the other, which we played interstate.

Richmond played 1 top four team interstate last year

we played all four interstate.
And?
In 2018 and 2019 only 1 non Victorian team made the top 4. Of course Richmond could only play 1 interstate.

Where would you suggest the Victorian sides play against each other?

And that happened.

Since 1990 the league has introduced:

Two South Australian sides
One Western Australian side (to make two)
One Queensland side (to make two)
One NSW side (to make two)

It has also bailed out the original Sydey side from multiple goings under. It sent a Victorian side to Queensland to prop up the original failing Queensland side. It's bailed out one of the South Australian sides. It continues to pump huge sums into both Queensland sides and both NSW sides.

It has done exactly what you said it should.
To a point.

We still have a rigged draw with blockbuster games that favour the big clubs and screw over the smaller clubs.

The whole 22-round fixture is unfair and teams should either play each other once or twice.

A tenant of the MCG can finish eighth on the ladder and potentially play every final there.

Non-Victorian teams, especially from WA, travel way too much leading to less recovery and preparation putting them at a distinct disadvantage.

Without any prospect of a GF and massive statewide annual windfall?
That’s the kicker though. They spend $1.6 BILLION on the stadium. Why didn’t they think they couldn’t buy out a contract? The Victorian State Government extended the agreement for 20+ years for a measly $225m. The cost to play was much less than the cost of the investment in the stadium for taxpayers.

And?
In 2018 and 2019 only 1 non Victorian team made the top 4. Of course Richmond could only play 1 interstate.

Where would you suggest the Victorian sides play against each other?
doesnt matter where they come from when youre an interstate team - unless its the other club in your town you are guaranteed to play top 4 teams away

you lot bitch about not having a hga - just be thankful you play the top 4 at home rather than away like we do

Cmon mate. You can argue better than this. It’s a bit hard for us to do that when Collingwood, Geelong and Richmond are three of the top four teams. And Brisbane is the other, which we played interstate.
Im not arguing that you can sldo it - im arguing that as we play more top 4 teams interstate every year - once again our draw will always be harder than you

doesnt matter where they come from when youre an interstate team - unless its the other club in your town you are guaranteed to play top 4 teams away

you lot bitch about not having a hga - just be thankful you play the top 4 at home rather than away like we do

#VICBIAS--- the AFL doesn't know who the Top 4 will be from one year to another. It's not like they deliberately force the Eagles to play the Top 4 each year away :rolleyes:

The Victorian State Government extended the agreement for 20+ years for a measly $225m. The cost to play was much less than the cost of the investment in the stadium for taxpayers.
Yep and after that shithouse deal for all interstate teams it emerged that the AFL dealt only with the Vic government and no one else. It was all done in secret. Clearly the AFL wanted the best deal but only if it was the best deal for Victoria.

So, for those of you who dislike the current format/amount of Vic teams in the AFL, what would you change?

Being realistic, please. Don't suggest a team in Tassie/Canberra/Darwin etc, because they wouldn't be viable.
Also extra teams in SA & WA. Who would support them.

And keep in mind that when you say "scrap the Bulldogs" etc, you're talking about a club with thousands of supporters and a proud history who would be gutted. What would you say to someone who told you your club should fold?

I think having the GF at the highest ranked team's stadium is a good idea, and fair.

So what would you actually do to change the league?

Even number of Friday night games per team.
Even number of nationally televised game.

Better access to local talent for SA and WA players. Why are indigenous players in Melbourne eligible for NGA but not Perth, or Adelaide?

You do realise the top 4 changes each year and so does whether you play those teams home or away in any given year?

Even number of Friday night games per team.
Even number of nationally televised game.

Better access to local talent for SA and WA players. Why are indigenous players in Melbourne eligible for NGA but not Perth, or Adelaide?
Agree with you on the televised games.
You have me confused about NGA though, I thought each club had access to a specific region?

To a point.

We still have a rigged draw with blockbuster games that favour the big clubs and screw over the smaller clubs.

The whole 22-round fixture is unfair and teams should either play each other once or twice.

A tenant of the MCG can finish eighth on the ladder and potentially play every final there.

Non-Victorian teams, especially from WA, travel way too much leading to less recovery and preparation putting them at a distinct disadvantage.

Agreed on all.

Agree with you on the televised games.
You have me confused about NGA though, I thought each club had access to a specific region?
[/URL]

https://www.afl.com.au › news › wa...
WA, SA clubs seek parity on metro indigenous talent - AFL

Read these

Without any prospect of a GF and massive statewide annual windfall?

Statewide? What, folks up in Carnarvon going to benefit?

Do you reckon in Kerang and Boort and Echuca they're coining it in from the Grand Final in Melbourne?