Opinion VICBias - Genuine Discussion

Multiple games in a row at the venue that hosts the Grand Final is unprecedented in world sport, Richmond & Collingwood have enjoyed an advantage that other teams could only dream of, the teams that rack up multiple games at Marvel aren't far behind.
Yeah the Saints are really reaping those Marvel benefits...... The interstate supporters sooking is ridiculous.

It’s like flogs that but a house next to an airport then bitch about the noise. Go back to your provincial home spun state leagues if you don’t want to play with the big boys.

So are these numerous other clubs taking the piss, or just genuinely run by complete morons?

Run by Morons, they all signed on the dotted line to crap deals for stadiums and then complain they don't get home games. Worst CEO's in history who run these Melbourne clubs. Only Eddie and a couple of others signed up to good deals that helped their club. The rest got either sold a lie or they were told either sign on or you won't have a club. Either way they chose bad deals.

So are these numerous other clubs taking the piss, or just genuinely run by complete morons?

Cmon, who doesn't enjoy flying in a plane for free?

An occasional business class upgrade, it's only carry on luggage for the weekend, 3-4 hour flight means you get to have a nap or watch a movie... If anything it's an advantage to the WA teams to fly, and the cost should be part of the soft cap.

In contrast, Melbourne teams have to drive to the game, put up with the Melbourne traffic, pay for their own food, have to talk to their family on game day... It's a real burden.

Cmon, who doesn't enjoy flying in a plane for free?

An occasional business class upgrade, it's only carry on luggage for the weekend, 3-4 hour flight means you get to have a nap or watch a movie... If anything it's an advantage to the WA teams to fly, and the cost should be part of the soft cap.

In contrast, Melbourne teams have to drive to the game, put up with the Melbourne traffic, pay for their own food, have to talk to their family on game day... It's a real burden.

Hardly lie flat beds either, just slightly bigger seats in domestic planes is Business class. They really are a laugh a minute over the East.

It’s like flogs that but a house next to an airport then bitch about the noise. Go back to your provincial home spun state leagues if you don’t want to play with the big boys.
Not like those smart people that work for companies but then bitch about how all the new people want the same pay and computers and phones and system access and working hours as us people who already work there. Don't they understand that theyre new, and don't deserve equality ever, even after 40 years, because it's our company?

I hate those people, when will they learn that they have to work the same as us but expect less in return.

Sort of like people refusing to acknowledge that being a male is an advantage over being a woman in terms of rising corporate ladders. They don't want to admit that they may not have reached where they were if everything was equal, so as a result they pretend like it is equal already.

Difference is a lot of industries are making steps to rectify this (it's basically reversed in mining now).

The AFL won't though

Or we could just pull our revenue and watch the Vic clubs die off.

Your state league would have gone arse up and folded if it wasn't for bringing teams from other states to prop it up and turn it into a national competition.

Ungrateful campaigners like you are the worst

lol thats funny. No issues with Fremantle getting 10 home games with a true home ground Advantage. I mean theres only 2 WA clubs in this 18 team comp.
No issue with that.

What I have an issue with is WA clubs getting an advantage by playing Melbourne based clubs not in Victoria or at grounds they are actually more familiar with.
You assumed Collingwood only gets the home ground advantage vs 8 clubs? The non Victorian clubs right? So that eans you want Tassie to come in as the 19h side to make it 9 and another non vic club to get the 20th side to make it 10 non vic sides?
What?
So whats your Issue playing MCG games vs the other Victorian sides such as richmond, hawks and Carlton
I have no issue.
Not sure many people really think playing lots of local derbies is an advantage.

I guess you gonna complain if Geelong have all their home games at Kardinia Park? All 11 of them rather than just 8?
Nope, they should get em all there.

So you want Collingwood to have more true home games right? That means Vic sides like North Melbourne, Saint kilda, Western Bulldogs, Hawthorn , Richmond and Essendon need to be relocated to another state?

Is that what you are suggesting?
No, just have the Melbourne clubs pick single home grounds.

They then get ALL their home games at the home grounds.

If the AFL wants some games in regional markets, then make ALL clubs give up a home game and play the odd game in Darwin, Alice, Canberra, Newcastle etc

It aint hard, your home games should be at a single home ground.

Cmon mate, young kids are just mini Fathers or Mums. dad goes for Collingwood so I do as well. If Day says there is no Home Ground advantage on GF day then that must be gospel. Our kids are generally a product of us for the most part.
If there was no wc or freo are you suggesting that wa fans would still dis their wall clubs?

Bigger priority is addressing the biased H&A Fixture where teams like WC and Freo get 10 games with a true home ground advantage, but then dont play 10 away games where they face a true away disadvantage.
Lol what?

I'll have some of what you're smoking

I'm gonna fairly assume you mean the expansion clubs discontinue.

Awesome go to state conference model. Then non Vic's can't whinge anymore.

And vics compete with their original enemies.

I like it.
Unlike the old days, people outside of Vic wouldn't follow the old VFL clubs anymore.

Half the Melbourne clubs would die off very quickly without the revenue the established interstate sides bring in.

Would be one step closer to an equitable national competition though.

Your state league would have gone arse up and folded if it wasn't for bringing teams from other states to prop it up and turn it into a national competition.

Ungrateful campaigners like you are the worst

At the time the wasn't the WAFL being propped up by massive transfer fees paid by VFL clubs for local W.A talent?

If there were no WA clubs there would be no North, St Kilda or Melbourne either as they only survive due to the money coming from WA.
If there was no West Coast and no Brisbane Bears, there would be no Collingwood, no Richmond, no Essendon. Let alone the small clubs.

The VFL clubs were going bankrupt and needed the addition of licences from those first two additions to save it.

At the time the wasn't the WAFL being propped up by massive transfer fees paid by VFL clubs for local W.A talent?

The reality si that all 3 major state leagues were in the crapper. The WAFL and the SANFL needed the transfer fees to survive as they had really become a feed league to the VFL. And the VFL were poaching and paying players money that the league or the clubs did not have.

Footy was not in a good space anywhere financially.

The reality si that all 3 major state leagues were in the crapper. The WAFL and the SANFL needed the transfer fees to survive as they had really become a feed league to the VFL. And the VFL were poaching and paying players money that the league or the clubs did not have.

Footy was not in a good space anywhere financially.

Ok, thats true and anyone who knows their history would agree with that, but doesnt that render the argument "interstate licences saved the Victorian clubs!" argument pretty ineffective, since each region needed each other.

And considering when you get down to brass tacks the central reason there was never a multi state breakaway super league is that no bastard could afford to fund such a massive operation, let alone keep their clubs solvent in the leagues they were already in, and seeing as how the original NFL was such a circus of warring parties eventually the budget option of sloppily expanding an existing state league into the defacto national league was settled on out of necessity (in other words even if you could break the laws of physics, build a time machine and go back 37 years you still wouldn't be able to get an independent super league off the ground)

With all that in mind, isn't this whole endless shisenfight pretty pointless and redundant?

(unlike all the other life affirming, intellectually fulfilling, cogently reasoned discussions that pepper the Bigfooty landscape)