Autopsy 8 point loss to Port

How can you say Heeney? He got 1 & 3 disposals in the second and third quarters. In the first and last year. But the other two he went missing and was one of our problems in that he WON'T EFFING CHASE.
Because I watched the entire game and not just 2 quarters of it.

By his high standards it wasn't his best but he kicked 2 goals, had 22 touches and laid 4 tackles with drew smothering him the entire game. He was in our top 5 as far as I'm concerned

I've been telling you we are bog average for two years and you keep arguing with me and scoffing like an arrogant flog.

With Tassie coming in if we don't smarten up and realise we are bog average and need to re build we have a decade at the the bottom incoming .

How many times can I repeat myself?
We blitzed the comp for half the season and finished runner up last year.

"Average". No, we were absolutely elite for 3 months last year.

This board is something else after a loss.

This side is just too happy with mediocrity is my worry, we bang on about being a successful side and grand finals don't define us and maybe internally it's all just too positive, nice, satisfied ?

This laziness costs us so often in our poor games, port opening two quarters in a row with goals in 10-15 seconds for instance-- what the **** is that .

harder sometimes to get out of the side once established than get selected in the first place.

anyway **** it we will drop like Hanily and maybe Hamling as scape goats.

Don't get me wrong the talent is there even today it was clearly there, we are shooting ourselves in the foot so much.

This year isn't over we just need to be ruthless on and off and uncompromising.

By his high standards it wasnt his best but he kicked 2 goals and had 22 touches with drew smothering him the entire game. He was in our top 5 as far as I'm concerned

Barely. Not even sure there should be a top 5.

Grundy yes, Bice, Wicks (on the fence as Rioli did kick 3.1), and maybe Blakey (though the 0.3 was a huge issue).

It’s slim pickings for the best 5 today

Because I watched the entire game and not just 2 quarters of it.

By his high standards it wasn't his best but he kicked 2 goals, had 22 touches and laid 4 tackles with drew smothering him the entire game. He was in our top 5 as far as I'm concerned

He was in every contest even when not getting it with **** all help, you are spot on that he is in the bests.

We need to help Heeney more

We blitzed the comp for half the season and finished runner up last year.

"Average". No, we were absolutely elite for 3 months last year.

This board is something else after a loss.

Key word being half a season we were bottom 6 after that point. As soon as sides plonked an extra stopping the corridor our coaches and players haven’t had a clue how to adjust.

This side is just too happy with mediocrity is my worry, we bang on about being a successful side and grand finals don't define us and maybe internally it's all just too positive, nice, satisfied ?

This laziness costs us so often in our poor games, port opening two quarters in a row with goals in 10-15 seconds for instance-- what the **** is that .

harder sometimes to get out of the side once established than get selected in the first place.

anyway **** it we will drop like Hanily and maybe Hamling as scape goats.

Don't get me wrong the talent is there even today it was clearly there, we are shooting ourselves in the foot so much.

This year isn't over we just need to be ruthless on and off and uncompromising.

I don’t actually think the talent is there.

Our depth is poor & some of the starting 22 today were non-contributors.

Self inflicted cuts from not doing 1% things are probably the most frustrating part - one infuriating trend of ours, even when we've been good, is not getting back off the mark...how many one step pressure kicks do we do because of this? We mark it take either stand there right next to the man on the mark or maybe take only two steps back while looking for options, then rush a kick when we get called to play on. FFS get right back off your mark while your assessing the options and give yourselves the space to kick the ****ing thing properly.

The other one is the bobble balls we let get past us because we reach for the ball and go past it instead of body lining it and making sure they at least keep the ball in-front of them...and sometimes when we have the ball in tight we ourselves let it back out with absolutely wild handballs to nothing (or rather generally the opposition). If Cox wants us to be a tough, in the clinches side this is a non negotiable improvement needed, can't just be letting the ball out like that when you don't know where it's going...better off the take the stoppage or even if it risks getting done holding the ball, at least makes it a slow play.

The bad tackling and missed goals is one thing, but we give up so many oppo goals or scoring opportunities because they don't do the 1% basics you're told to do at Auskick level.

I don’t actually think the talent is there.

Our depth is poor & some of the starting 22 today were non-contributors.

Talent is there to compete and at least win today, get the injured guys back it's a very good side IMO.

Maybe I am wrong , but i think every guy can play better than today just about minus 1-2

Few players need to be dropped and made there spot up for grabs again

They no what they can get away with

I honestly think some of the efforts the last 2 weeks is pretty damming , if that’s the effort they are giving there new coach
5 or 6 weeks in I’m not going to say the bloke can’t coach but what I will say is he needs to stop with the McCartin bullshit, trying to reinvent the wheel and coach the basics. Us with the footy, them with the footy and the footy in dispute. 3 phases of the game where we lack badly in all of them. Basics ffs. Coach it.

Talent is there to compete and at least win today, get the injured guys back it's a very good side IMO.

Maybe I am wrong , but i think every guy can play better than today just about minus 1-2

Unfortunately it’s still too much of a Heeney better turn into beast mode and save us and was a fair bit like that last year too.

We won’t ever get a better chance than last season

Unfortunately it’s still too much of a Heeney better turn into beast mode and save us and was a fair bit like that last year too.

We won’t ever get a better chance than last season

If they stopped the brain farts could have won every game bar the Pies imo.

Now we didn't win, but I don't think we can just go ok shit side now.

should be in the top 8

5 or 6 weeks in I’m not going to say the bloke can’t coach but what I will say is he needs to stop with the McCartin bullshit, trying to reinvent the wheel and coach the basics. Us with the footy, them with the footy and the footy in dispute. 3 phases of the game where we lack badly in all of them. Basics ffs. Coach it.
The defence part he banged on about all pre season isn’t there

Tells me his message is taking for granted

Self inflicted cuts from not doing 1% things are probably the most frustrating part - one infuriating trend of ours, even when we've been good, is not getting back off the mark...how many one step pressure kicks do we do because of this? We mark it take maybe either stand there right next to the man on the mark or take only two steps back while looking for options, then rush a kick when we get called to play on. FFS get right back off your mark while your assessing the options and give yourselves the space to kick the ****ing thing properly.

The other one is the bobble balls we let get past us because we reach for the ball and go past it instead of body lining it and making sure they at least keep the ball in-front of them...and sometimes when we have the ball in tight we ourselves let it back out with absolutely wild handballs to nothing (or rather generally the opposition). If Cox wants us to be a tough, in the clinches side this is a non negotiable improvement needed, can't just be letting the ball out like that when you don't know where it's going...better off the take the stoppage or even if it risks getting done holding the ball, at least makes it a slow play.

The bad tackling and missed goals is one thing, but we give up so many oppo goals or scoring opportunities because they don't do the 1% basics you're told to do at Auskick level.
Not getting back off the mark. Perfect point. Whatever happened to taking a mark letting your opponent over commit and wheeling around and going ? We are so dumb we walk back on the mark and stuff up any chance of a forward getting to space. Basic shit.

Hanily & Corey didn’t do anywhere near enough & aren’t currently good enough.

Hamling is a stop-gap.

Cleary not yet an AFL ready player.

Add to Campbell being poor today, Rampe in decline, McLean a C-grader & Lloyd struggling …..

Too many weaknesses. Particularly with Chad seemingly nowhere near his best.

We don’t have the depth to cover injury.

Autopsy 8 point loss to Port