Votes: 93 60.4%
  • 48. Steely Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 49. Kaleb Smith

Votes: 2 1.3%

If you can't handle the ups and downs of an inexperienced team, then bugger off and jump back on in a couple of years when we are better.
We were more experienced in the centre where we got demolished 4 - 14 clearances.

The question is simple: how does Sonsie with 36 disposals and 10 clearances not break into demonstrably the worst midfield in the comp which is full of players past their prime given we're supposedly at the start of a rebuild?

I see Miller is copping it again after keeping one of the best key forwards in the comp to 2 goals and zero impact otherwise while Balta got touched up by a bloke who needs a walking frame to transport between contests and gets off scot free.

Not only that, how on earth is Vlastuin not copping it after two pathetic efforts in the last quarter that led to soft goals?

I thought from before the first bounce they manned up on the wrong players. I felt Balta would have shut down Larkey better (I think he finished with two goals but he did setup a lot of play for North Melbourne similar to how Lynch does for Richmond) and Miller would easily shut down Darling.

I get why Balta started on Darling but Larkey looked way too good for Miller.

Agree with this.

Wrong match up’s and both guys had a shocker. They looked slow and flat footed all game

Dominated the quarter yet only won it by 19 points and was a key reason why we lost; we don’t make nearly enough of our chances and we **** up in this exact same way week-in, week-out
You realise the age and game profile of the team named today yeah? You’re talking like it was the 2020 squad out there today.
In the second quarter our pressure rating was around 275. That stuff is off the charts.
I don’t think you understand the concept of what a rebuild is and understand where our club is at on the field currently.

Not only that, how on earth is Vlastuin not copping it after two pathetic efforts in the last quarter that led to soft goals?
Mate, when you’re gobbing off about Vlaustin it’s time to step away from the keyboard. Seriously, you’re talking shit.

We were more experienced in the centre where we got demolished 4 - 14 clearances.

The question is simple: how does Sonsie with 36 disposals and 10 clearances not break into demonstrably the worst midfield in the comp which is full of players past their prime given we're supposedly at the start of a rebuild?

That’s the lie; it’s not a rebuild, it’s a bunch of experienced second- and third-raters being gifted games each week because of the braindead trades that we did at the end of 2022 when the club was so deluded that they thought there was another premiership in the offing

You realise the age and game profile of the team named today yeah? You’re talking like it was the 2020 squad out there today.
In the second quarter our pressure rating was around 275. That stuff is off the charts.
I don’t think you understand the concept of what a rebuild is and understand where our club is at on the field currently.

What the **** has a rebuild got to do with Tom Lynch missing sitters week-in, week-out 🤷‍♂️

I'm all for rotating the kids, and letting them play AFL then head back to the VFL to build some form and work on a few things before coming back.

I reckon Faull could use that spell at the moment to kick a few goals and take some marks at VFL level for 2-3 weeks then bring him back.

Sims and Lynch is enough, and Lefau could be an option too if desperate.
I’m not concerned about the kids getting heaps of marks and kicks it’s them competing and I think Faull and Sims do that the marks kicks will follow in due course

More experienced, doesn't mean better. Most in the know would recognise North's midfield is their best strength with LDU, Simpkin, McCkercher, Sheezel, Parker, Wardlaw and some other parts players going through there. What they also have are in to out players which we lack. They also bat deeper there than we do (for now).

Sonsie has never played in the midfield at AFL level so we'd never know but he should go through there when he next gets back in. In reality though, is Sonsie likely to make us drastically better? Probably not. He, Dow, Ross and McAuliffe are of a similar standard. Hopper and Taranto are working hard but give us grunt without burst and that is what we lack. He definitely doesn't have incriminating photos of someone on the match committee though or he'd have played 20 more games by now.

I see Miller is copping it again after keeping one of the best key forwards in the comp to 2 goals and zero impact otherwise while Balta got touched up by a bloke who needs a walking frame to transport between contests and gets off scot free.
I’m glad someone said it.

One of Larkeys goals came from a mark where Miller wasn’t on him.
And the mark he took against Miller late could’ve been the only one on him all day.

Thought Miller did a great job today.

Teaching our young players the tempo of AFL footy, when to attack, when to defend when the floodgates are about to open from the oppo. It's a work in progress, going to take a few years to get our younger boys into seasoned hard bodies. That's why today I clearly noticed our veterans putting their bodies into and under packs to during key moments in the game to protect the cubs. Loving what Jonty Faull and Tom Sims are showing but to expect 18 year olds to shoulder the load against seasoned oppo defenders is a big ask. That's why we need to keep Tom Lynch on the field at all costs.
Lynch was off for extended periods, many times out f50 was Faull, sims lalor , mansell Ross green . Was right in front of me ,,,,right in front of me

I'm not sure why everyone is getting emotional about the result. This game in the scheme of things means absolutely nothing. Both teams are rebuilding.

Both teams get draft picks at the end of the season. The future matters. Not the here and now.

Seriously, think about this game and this season in that context.
Lose the close ones now so we don't do it in a prelim in 5 years time.

I can’t believe how negative some people are on here, reminds me more of Carlton supporters. People getting stuck into Faull’s game have no idea about what our talls are expected to do in our game style. I can’t remember seeing him get out marked all game, completely nullified comben who is there best interceptor. People bagging Miller as well who did great job in Larkey

Yeah but that easy chest mark that bounced off his chest !!

Needed him to hold that and kick the goal

Ironically probably Sydney’s mature age recruits get them over the line today.

As much as I think Jack Darling is washed up, he caused us some serious headaches today.

If he didn’t play there’s a high chance we would’ve intercepted a ton more marks at half back. Honestly I don’t think I saw many today, maybe Broad had a few and that’s about it.

You’ve got to be joking, there were half-a-dozen better things that he could’ve done than be pushed over like a first-gamer and effectively concede a goal

Couple of things about this play though, the bounce of the ball did him the dirty, automatically wrong footed him and he becomes an easy target to get pushed off the ball as he had to try and slow down to pick it up.
Wardlaw however to his credit, positioned his body perfectly and done very well.

Lynch was off for extended periods, many times out f50 was Faull, sims lalor , mansell Ross green . Was right in front of me ,,,,right in front of me
I guess we are trying to manage Lynch so he doesn't break down but yeah when he's sitting on the bench it puts a lot of undue pressure on our young kids up forward.

Autopsy Roast & Toast for North & Changes for Dreamtime v Essendon