Preview 2023 Rd 24 Carlton vs GWS Sunday August 27 6:10PM @ Marvel Stadium

Final Team is in ...

IN: Cerra, Fogarty, McGovern, Walsh, C. Durdin
OUT: Cripps (soreness), Docherty (soreness), E.Curnow, Marchbank, Pittonet, Motlop (illness)

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringAlex Cincotta
Half-backs:Adam SaadMitch McGovernNic Newman
Centreline:Blake AcresSam WalshOllie Hollands
Half-forwards:Jack MartinHarry McKayDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraGeorge Hewett
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Corey Durdin
Emergencies:Ed CurnowMarc PittonetCaleb Marchbank

*Update 26th August

?
Dog Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

? Or...
images.jpeg-4.jpg

If we get a home final, it is likely to be on Thursday night , 11 days after this game. So any player entering concussion protocols will be ruled out. We would probably be the only team this will effect depending on opponent.

Pretty sure we’re playing Friday.

No1 Preference: Crippa's ribs weren't too bad and improving rapidly = Play this week

No2 Preference: Crippa's ribs are still a bit of an issue = Rest this week and have 21 odd days between playing

No3 Preference: Crippa's ribs are still a bit of an issue = Playing this week.

Was happy with what looked like No1 last night.

Happy if it ends up No2.

No chance it was gonna be No3.

I think it's a myth that you need to play and lose in a finals series to be a chance to win one. No other sport in the world says it about a playoff/knockout cup competition except us. I'm not sure how it crept into AFL parlance but it gets said every year about a few clubs.

Imo it's a silver lining for when your team loses a final to say at least you've got some experience now.
We basically been playing finals for a month. Not to mention pain if last year. Reckon we’ve got enough scars

Surly 1st and 4th get the extra days rest
That’s usually the AFL’s preference.

Thursday night isn’t ideal in Melbourne as there’s a larger percentage of regional/outer suburb footy families compared to Sydney or Brissy, so it could flip, however if results go as they expect, I was told by a decent source that the AFL wants to go:
1.Thurs: CollvMelb
2.Fri: CarlvWB/GWS
3.Sat arvo: BrisvPort
4.Sat night: StKvSyd or SydvStK

Sets them up for week 2:
Fri: Loser1vWinner2 (MCG)
Sat: Loser3vWinner4 (SA/Qld)

Obviously they want to keep the big Melb teams where ratings matter most and reward teams which finish higher on the ladder.
The broadcasters have plenty of power in the schedule.