AFL Player #23: Harrison Jones - God-tier Hands

Out for the season, aiming to be ready for Day 1 of pre-season
Aiming to be ready for Day 1 of pre-season.
Forward Harry Jones will miss the rest of the 2023 season after recent ankle surgery.

Jones was sidelined with back stress and the club proactively decided the time was right to fix the ankle ligament issues that have sidelined him in the past. Jones has started a rehab program that will ensure he is ready to go on day one of the pre-season.

Dunno why they have to use a photo of him wearing a pyjama jumper. 😒

BOMBER TO WAIT ON DEAL

CONTRACT talks are expected later in the year for Essendon forward Harrison Jones as the tall goalkicker overcomes his ankle and back injuries.

Jones played the first five games this season before suffering a back stress fracture, following fellow young Bombers Nik Cox and Zach Reid in having similar injuries over summer.

The Bombers have also used the time on the sidelines to send Jones in for an ankle reconstruction after a run of injuries.

It comes as the 22-year-old reaches the final year of his contract at the Bombers, having re-signed for two years in 2021 when he played 16 games and kicked 20 goals.

Jones has played 31 games for the club since being drafted by the Bombers at the end of 2019. Essendon is also prioritising the signatures of restricted free agents Darcy Parish and Mason Redman while assessing the market with its salary cap cash. – Callum Twomey

Despite his inaccuracy in front of goal earlier this year, he's actually still 15th on the list for goal-kicking accuracy (1965-current) and with better accuracy than Lloyd!

View attachment 1737470
He's undeniably a very good kick for goal. That's why I think the issue is choking. Nerves before his first goal, nerves when icing the game.

It's a concern because you ultimately want players who are going to deliver when the pressure is on.

He's undeniably a very good kick for goal. That's why I think the issue is choking. Nerves before his first goal, nerves when icing the game.

It's a concern because you ultimately want players who are going to deliver when the pressure is on.
Dunno, he doesn’t seem prone to nerves killing his game before this year.

I was wondering with the foot/ankle issues if something mechanical is different, or if he was playing with some sort of chronic problem (they sent him for surgery as soon as the back injury ruled him out for the season, not apparently a new injury)… or perhaps he was just out of practice. 🤔

Dunno, he doesn’t seem prone to nerves killing his game before this year.

I was wondering with the foot/ankle issues if something mechanical is different, or if he was playing with some sort of chronic problem (they sent him for surgery as soon as the back injury ruled him out for the season, not apparently a new injury)… or perhaps he was just out of practice. 🤔
He missed that one near the end of the Collingwood game last year to ice the game but yeah other than that I don’t remember nerves effecting him with the exception of his first game against the Hawks if I remember correctly.

His issue is not his accuracy it the amount of scoring opportunities.
It certainly helps if you’re near the sticks, and taking marks or winning free kicks there.

Heat maps are summarised in the far right column. Also highlighted his scoring (accuracy +/- 50%) and time on ground (70%+);
IMG_0024.jpeg

Disposals and marks inside 50 on this one (games are listed in reverse order of the first screenshot);
IMG_0022.jpeg

Despite his inaccuracy in front of goal earlier this year, he's actually still 15th on the list for goal-kicking accuracy (1965-current) and with better accuracy than Lloyd!

View attachment 1737470
People have short memories.
When his head is in the game, he's an absoute deadeye. Was in the juniors too.
Ever since that miss down in Tassie against Hawthorn where he made "the face" people have thought of him as inaccurate.

Has anyone though that maybe, it's really hard to play CHF in our current gameplan of manic transition?

I have a half-baked theory with Harry, that if he is going to make it he is going to need to transform himself into a Jeremy Finlayson type forward/ruck.

When you look at roles in the forwardline as constructed, we have:
1. Goal Square FF - Peter Wright
2. 2nd KPF/Ruck - Weideman
3. 3rd tall/lead up option - Langford
4. Medium fwd/mids - Stringer and Perkins
5. Small fwds - Menzie, Guelfi, Snelling

Obviously he isnt fitting into roles 4 & 5.
He isnt beating out Wright as the goal square KPF because Wright has the runs on the board there.
Round 1 this year he was starting as role 3 (lead up 3rd tall) but Langford is almost leading the BnF in that role now so he isnt supplanting him.

So really the only spot open for him to take (without unexpected injuries) is the 2nd tall/Ruck role Weideman is currently (nominally) playing.
And whilst he probably doesn't strike you as a ruck, neither does Finlayson. But they both are the same height (196cm) and a similar build with similar traits (agility, very good tanks, decent aerial ability, whilst certainly not mugs when it hits the deck).
I am fascinated by the idea that he could give us 5-8 minutes a quarter as an around the ground ruckman ala Finlayson. He certainly would have the endurance to get back behind the ball and burn oppo rucks on the spread. It would also allow us to only play 1 ruck and make us a better running side overall.

It might also just help him get into the game more and have some involvement outside eof getting smashed by defenders.

I have a half-baked theory with Harry, that if he is going to make it he is going to need to transform himself into a Jeremy Finlayson type forward/ruck.

When you look at roles in the forwardline as constructed, we have:
1. Goal Square FF - Peter Wright
2. 2nd KPF/Ruck - Weideman
3. 3rd tall/lead up option - Langford
4. Medium fwd/mids - Stringer and Perkins
5. Small fwds - Menzie, Guelfi, Snelling

Obviously he isnt fitting into roles 4 & 5.
He isnt beating out Wright as the goal square KPF because Wright has the runs on the board there.
Round 1 this year he was starting as role 3 (lead up 3rd tall) but Langford is almost leading the BnF in that role now so he isnt supplanting him.

So really the only spot open for him to take (without unexpected injuries) is the 2nd tall/Ruck role Weideman is currently (nominally) playing.
And whilst he probably doesn't strike you as a ruck, neither does Finlayson. But they both are the same height (196cm) and a similar build with similar traits (agility, very good tanks, decent aerial ability, whilst certainly not mugs when it hits the deck).
I am fascinated by the idea that he could give us 5-8 minutes a quarter as an around the ground ruckman ala Finlayson. He certainly would have the endurance to get back behind the ball and burn oppo rucks on the spread. It would also allow us to only play 1 ruck and make us a better running side overall.

It might also just help him get into the game more and have some involvement outside eof getting smashed by defenders.
Means Harry is slated to take Weideman's spot, which sounds about right.

Jones is a third tall forward. It’s no coincidence he played his best footy when we had Hooker and 2MP to support him.
Reckon he needs to be able to play as a number 2 longer term given we also have Langford and Stringer.

No reason he shouldn’t t be able to (other than injury).

Jones is a third tall forward. It’s no coincidence he played his best footy when we had Hooker and 2MP to support him.
Correct. His frame and ability is suited to third/fourth tall defender. Tom lynch from Adelaide like

Probably no coincidence that it was on the back of the only full pre season he has done and had no injury issues. If he is injury free and has a good pre season he will get the confidence to be more than just a third forward. His problem is not ability. His problem is two pre seasons plus more weeks in the season destroyed by injury and no fitness base or lead in form . Last year they should never have played him when they did. He played 60% of a VFL game. Twisted an ankle and missed a week and then was in the AFL side. It was simply stupid. This year he again had a poor pre season and a limited preparation and ideally should have started in the VFL but Wright went down so they needed him to play.

Should get two years but with his injury record we need incentive structured contract. Games played, availability etc. Still lots of potential but he has to stay on the park. Needs to get 5 plus kilos and make his own luck.
Your exactly right ant555 he needs continuity, starting with a full preseason.