Preview Changes: R22 v Collingwood

It's pretty typical of Adelaide to look at what a player can't do and not be able to get past it

Butts might get outbodied occassionally. So that means he cannot be played under any circumstances.

What about all the good things he does? Agile for a big bloke, decent closing speed, quality intercept mark, good distribution...? Will improve quickly if given exposure at a higher level? To us none of that matters. He might get outbodied. The end.

Fogarty's tank? The end.

What about all his good stuff? Doesn't matter to us.

We need to learn how to formulate and understand pros and cons lists.
Hartigan can’t kick - doesn’t matter
Atkins soft - doesn’t matter
Douglas slips over - doesn’t matter

Just depends on the player I suppose and whether they’ve played 50 games or more

You're right - I should have said young player

Don't forget

Tex cant run
Betts goes missing
Lynch is always injured
JJ is as soft as butter
Gibbs head is all over the place
Laird is a bomb ball specialist
Tahlia my grandma is quicker than
Murphy is as dumb as a door knob
Mackay is as light as a feather
Greenwood has zero tank

It's pretty typical of Adelaide to look at what a player can't do and not be able to get past it

Butts might get outbodied occassionally. So that means he cannot be played under any circumstances.

What about all the good things he does? Agile for a big bloke, decent closing speed, quality intercept mark, good distribution...? Will improve quickly if given exposure at a higher level? To us none of that matters. He might get outbodied. The end.

Fogarty's tank? The end.

Funny isnt it, I mean Fog played last year after almost no pre season.... yet we waited until r21 to play him this year

I reckon I could pick four posters from here I respect, make them the new match committee, and we'd never lose again.

(i would be the 5th member)
Cheers mate

Seeing Fogarty and O'Brien light it up has given me some hope about our playing list. What other uncovered quality do we have within our list that we aren't utilising?

Circumstances forced us to play these two, nothing else.

Who are the roadblocks on our coaching staff preventing this ability to enter our line up in their best role? Remove those roadblocks and the upswing could be swift.

Funny isnt it, I mean Fog played last year after almost no pre season.... yet we waited until r21 to play him this year
It's not as if they had a choice... they had a double digit injury list for most of last season. First it was Lynch MIA at the start of the season, then he got another run when Tex was MIA.

Last year, as in 2019, he was only picked when the selectors' hands were forced. We haven't had many injuries this year, so it's only the recent JJ/Pyke off-field clash which has forced their hands.

Fogarty's tank? The end.

And Allen kicked 3 anyway.

Not like the experienced Otten blanketed him with that bigger body, outmuscled him so kept him goalless.

Even if he kicked 4 on Butts and we lost by 16, you get a big game into our future KPD.

It's not as if they had a choice... they had a double digit injury list for most of last season. First it was Lynch MIA at the start of the season, then he got another run when Tex was MIA.

Last year, as in 2019, he was only picked when the selectors' hands were forced. We haven't had many injuries this year, so it's only the recent JJ/Pyke off-field clash which has forced their hands.
Well yes, you’re right here.

Have we ever taken a punt on talent without being forced to do so.

These aren’t excuses, more like policy

Not like the experienced Otten blanketed him with that bigger body, outmuscled him so kept him goalless.

Even if he kicked 4 on Butts and we lost by 16, you get a big game into our future KPD.
And it would burn in Jordan's mind, drive him through every single weights session over summer

There was not a single positive for the club in playing Otten

Well yes, you’re right here.

Have we ever taken a punt on talent without being forced to do so.

These aren’t excuses, more like policy
Policy is selecting the old farts until they can barely hobble onto the field.

JJ's (alleged) off-field clashes with Pyke have made his position in the team untenable, which has forced the selectors to pick Fogarty. Fogarty would not be playing if JJ & Pyke hadn't clashed, just as he wouldn't have played last year if not for injuries.

We need to accept that our coaching panel is of a very poor standard.

Stale, conservative, uninspiring, short sighted, incompetent fools, who think they are far better than results and reality have shown.

We are going no where with this bunch and getting rid of them won't help either as the higher ups demand we remain competitive - not strive for ultimate success as that may mean a lean couple of seasons.

Policy is selecting the old farts until they can barely hobble onto the field.

JJ's (alleged) off-field clashes with Pyke have made his position in the team untenable, which has forced the selectors to pick Fogarty. Fogarty would not be playing if JJ & Pyke hadn't clashed, just as he wouldn't have played last year if not for injuries.
Oh...I thought it was because he was so unfit

This.

Very.

Curious.

So he had a tank, lost it, then gained it again.

Sounds legit.

These tanks are fickle beasts. One wrong look at Ben Hart and your tank’s tumbling down West Lakes Boulevard.

Fogarty's tank? The end.

Don’t forget GPS numbers.

What’s funny about footy 2019 style is that when everything about player performance can be measured, and then boxed neatly into a spreadsheet on an assistant coach’s Mac Book, it becomes a job anybody can do.

This.

Very.

Curious.

So he had a tank, lost it, then gained it again.

Sounds legit.

These tanks are fickle beasts. One wrong look at Ben Hart and your tank’s tumbling down West Lakes Boulevard.
He never had the tank last year. He was picked out of necessity, first due to Lynch's injury, then Tex's.

So what’s the point you seem desperate to make?

That he was lucky to get a game when he shouldn’t have?

He beat Otten in the ruck too, so it's not like that was a reason either...

Firstly, I have consistently said that Douglas should not be playing this year after his poor pre-season performance and his shambolic slipping exhibition against Hawthorn. I have advocated for Jones to be played as much as possible and unlike some other players he has had some ripping matches in the Twos.

Oscar Allen, close but no cigar. Perhaps you are confusing him with Matthew Allen who is also on the Eagles list.

Oscar is not a first year player like Jordan Butts. Oscar Allen won the Larke medal as the best player in the 2018 Under 18 championships playing as a key forward and played all last year as a defender in their Twos (what was Simpson thinking) except for two games as a defender in the AFL late last season. He has only missed one game this year (due to injury) and has had an excellent season as a Forward/second ruck.

Did you see Butts recent game against Liam McBean or both games against the Poort Pear Twos? They would suggest that he would struggle big time against Oscar. I didn’t think Andy Otten should have played against the Eagles but I am not sure that Jordan would have got us over the line.

I wouldn’t argue if we gave him a game but suggesting Butts for Otten was a no brainer is a bit disingenuous
Re- Jordan Butts; earlier in the year I went to Prospect oval to see Crows vs North. I was most interested in watching the young guys. I really liked what I saw in Butts.....seems like a natural smart footballer and very athletic, but (no pun intended), gees he's a skinny lad. He's certainly 1 young gun that I've got no problem with the club holding back for a while. He looks very promising but needs to put on some muscle.
Fog on the other hand is a 19yo in a 25yo body. No excuses for the club not playing him earlier this year.

Fog is already averaging a better game than both Tex & Lynch... & you could argue that his 1 game has been better than any game from either of them this year!

If Keath isn't available this week, we may as well play Butts.