Changes v Brisbane

Do you think Scott Thompson WILL come in this week?

They will give Greenwood a go, but if he isn't up to AFL standard as no one knows the answer to that, where to from there

We write off 2017, play kids and get the cheque book out.

If we are relying on playing Thommo our season is shot anyway.

Mackey Menzel out

Knight and Greenwood in.

Tempted to have Thommo in for Milera. However that is going backwards and not addressing the main problem at hand for the future.

The biggest IN needs to be a change in attitude and start helping each other out and being more physical. Nice Football wont win the flag

It is nice to be there for the receive to move the ball forward quickly. But shepherding and creating blocks to protect each other is important too.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Mackey Menzel out

Knight and Greenwood in.

Tempted to have Thommo in for Milera. However that is going backwards and not addressing the main problem at hand for the future.

The biggest IN needs to be a change in attitude and start help g each other out and being more physical. Nice Football wont win the flag

My God Geoff, you have some bloody weird opinions.

Milera out for Thommo would have to be up there with your worst.

My God Geoff, you have some bloody weird opinions.

Milera out for Thommo would have to be up there with your worst.
I edited it

Our main problem is lack of body strength and willingness to use it

Thommo in is short term. Long term, guys like Milera need to learn to use their body.

I edited it

Our main problem is lack of body strength and willingness to use it

Thommo in is short term. Long term, guys like Milera need to learn to use their body.

Our main problem is having good enough inside mids. Thommo doesn't help with that, last year his performances were on the decline and his SANFL doesn't appear to be anything to write home about.

As for Milera, he is tracking just fine.

The biggest IN needs to be a change in attitude and start helping each other out and being more physical. Nice Football wont win the flag

It is nice to be there for the receive to move the ball forward quickly. But shepherding and creating blocks to protect each other is important too.

Along with the skill of hitting a goddam attacking target!

Our main problem is having good enough inside mids. Thommo doesn't help with that, last year his performances were on the decline and his SANFL doesn't appear to be anything to write home about.

As for Milera, he is tracking just fine.
The two teams that beat us dont rely on one or two players to be physical.

Every player was. Each contest there was a push, shove niggle or hold. Just enough to not catch the umpires eye.

It is not nice or fair footy. But the Premiership sides of Hawthorn, Sydney and Bulldogs all played like that.

We need more of that.

I singled out those three players as they seem most reluctant to play that way.

And I do agree bring in Thommo is going backwards. But if these guys wont protect each other the big body of Thommo may be needed if we want to win games.

Thommo is only being mentioned because the media keep asking the question, well that's what I hope anyway.
I think our lack of physicality at stoppages is why his name is being raised. I have to admit I am a little curious to know if Sloaney would get tagged as closely if Thommo was there. Vince would have spent a bit more time on his arse Saturday night I reckon.

Mackey Menzel out

Knight and Greenwood in.

Lever in too?

Bad week for the SANFL team to have a bye. Few blokes would have liked the chance to make a statement.

Menzel has to go. Just doesn't look up to it, doubt he'll be on the list next year. Hopefully he can rediscover what made him one of the hottest juniors in the game but wouldn't be the first time a star junior didn't make in the big league.

Thought Milera was pretty good, definitely keep.

Obviously Mackay. Doesn't get it and buggers it up when he does. But has been getting a game doing that for years. Getting tired of talking about it.

I never thought I'd want to bring Thommo back in but we've been smashed in the contest 2 weeks running. But won the contested ball 6 weeks in a row before that, so maybe it's not personnel. Would rather not see him get a game but would understand if it happened.

Gallucci definitely not ready.

Greenwood maybe. Big step up but Brissie might be the time to make the call. Have backed in Hampton all season and still think he can be a player for us but very disappointing couple of weeks, disposal not good enough at the minute. If Greenwood comes in, maybe he goes out. If he stays, might be a good game to let him run free on a wing or on half back. Confidence player, get the ball in his hands and and free him up.

Otten stays, he's going fine. Hartigan's a real worry. Couple of absolute shockers, his confidence looks shot. Only good game he's played all year was on a little bloke (R. Gray). But Brissie have some big blokes up forward, so he gets a reprieve. Just.

Jake Kelly makes too many little errors for mine. Just looks a tick under AFL standard. Good game a couple of weeks ago when given space but not great in the contest or one on one. Time to go.

Maybe Wigg deserves a chance. I actually think our biggest issue in the past couple of weeks in disposal, not contested ball. We're creating so many contests because we're missing targets. He's got a good leg on him. If he comes in, Laird to spend more time in the middle.

We're really missing McGovern's random brilliance/third option.

OUT: Menzel, Kelly, Mackay, (maybe Hampton)

IN: Knight, Lever, Wigg, (maybe Greenwood)

The young players have been letting us down, which Pyke affords a lot of autonomy. I hope a lot of lessons are learned in the last two weeks but I feel one or two of the young players will be dropped and ideally at least one senior player for poor on field leadership.

He's injured otherwise he would be, Cameron should be rested.
:'(

How good was his start to the season!! His performance, along with Hampton's defensive performance in the middle and Sloane in top form, revolutionised our midfield.

Now all 3 are far worse.

One wonders if hampton's poor offensive output the result of coach's putting the heat on him to be the defensive mid at stoppages so doesn't even think about winning the ball.

Re Charlie, if a 6-8 week rest and rebuild is required to get him into the finals midfield then we should do it cos he's near useless atm (and I love him as a player).

I'd throw Lever into the guts for a bit of a hard edge, just for a spell here and there, see how he goes. He won't take a backwards step.
Very left field but I like it!

Prob more realistic once Cheney returns as we need a tallish intercepter and organiser in defence at all times but yeah I'd like to see some cameo's in there! Not only is Lever tough as nails, his work in tight spaces and his evasion skills for a big man are elite. I also think his foot skills could be damaging, it's just he rightly doesn't risk it as much from deep in defence.

Thommo is only being mentioned because the media keep asking the question, well that's what I hope anyway.

I think that's right at the moment. Pyke is about structure, so I doubt that 2 inside type midfielders will come in and there's no way that any existing outside of Hampton will be making way. Greenwood's upgrade would have been a complete waste if Thommo was to push past him without a game having been played. Pyke was pretty clear 2-3 weeks ago that Thommo's form in the 2's will be watched closely. That's a pretty clear indication that he needs to be performing to a high standard in there, we've seen over many years that consistent 30+ in the 2's doesn't mean any form of elevation. I don't think Thommo will come in after a couple of games in the early 20's. The way he plays, he'd need to be mid 30's to warrant a call up to AFL action.

I think our lack of physicality at stoppages is why his name is being raised. I have to admit I am a little curious to know if Sloaney would get tagged as closely if Thommo was there. Vince would have spent a bit more time on his arse Saturday night I reckon.
I don't think Thommo would help Sloane at all. He would just worry about winning his own ball ala the Crouch's.

Certainly would hold his ground more at the stoppage but all the other negatives just aren't worth it.

Thommo has been a great servant of the club, but he ain't the answer....Greenwood should have come in last week so good bye Hampton, its whether we drop Mackay for a Galluchi or Poholke or Wigg, because any of those three would be an improvement on the blonde inanimate rod. Beech should come in for Menzel. Lever is an in for either JJ or Otto.

Why wouldn't you consider Hampton for Mackay's role. He's an actually fast player, he doesn't appear lazy in terms of 2 way running (not saying Mackay is for the record), his disposal is ok, certainly on par or better than Dmac and when it's time to go into a contest or lay a tackle when a player has some steam up, he won't be completely brushed aside. I'd be pretty pissed off if we rule a line through Hampton based on him only being an inside player and then considered whether or how we replace Mackay with someone categorised as 'outside'. Pissed off, but obviously not surprised, because it would be so AFC. Only genuine plodders like Reilly, VB and Mackay are afforded the opportunity to find form in every position on the field. Young talent get pigeon-holed and either make it or don't with opportunity in only that role.

Bad week for the SANFL team to have a bye. Few blokes would have liked the chance to make a statement.

Menzel has to go. Just doesn't look up to it, doubt he'll be on the list next year. Hopefully he can rediscover what made him one of the hottest juniors in the game but wouldn't be the first time a star junior didn't make in the big league.

Thought Milera was pretty good, definitely keep.

Obviously Mackay. Doesn't get it and buggers it up when he does. But has been getting a game doing that for years. Getting tired of talking about it.

I never thought I'd want to bring Thommo back in but we've been smashed in the contest 2 weeks running. But won the contested ball 6 weeks in a row before that, so maybe it's not personnel. Would rather not see him get a game but would understand if it happened.

Gallucci definitely not ready.

Greenwood maybe. Big step up but Brissie might be the time to make the call. Have backed in Hampton all season and still think he can be a player for us but very disappointing couple of weeks, disposal not good enough at the minute. If Greenwood comes in, maybe he goes out. If he stays, might be a good game to let him run free on a wing or on half back. Confidence player, get the ball in his hands and and free him up.

Otten stays, he's going fine. Hartigan's a real worry. Couple of absolute shockers, his confidence looks shot. Only good game he's played all year was on a little bloke (R. Gray). But Brissie have some big blokes up forward, so he gets a reprieve. Just.

Jake Kelly makes too many little errors for mine. Just looks a tick under AFL standard. Good game a couple of weeks ago when given space but not great in the contest or one on one. Time to go.

Maybe Wigg deserves a chance. I actually think our biggest issue in the past couple of weeks in disposal, not contested ball. We're creating so many contests because we're missing targets. He's got a good leg on him. If he comes in, Laird to spend more time in the middle.

We're really missing McGovern's random brilliance/third option.

OUT: Menzel, Kelly, Mackay, (maybe Hampton)

IN: Knight, Lever, Wigg, (maybe Greenwood)
Love a lot of this but the final selections leave us too tall again, we don't need to make our dinosaur forward line any slower.

You're comments on Mackay, Hampton and Kelly all spot on imo. Get Hampton onto the wing/flank rotations and actually use him!

Why wouldn't you consider Hampton for Mackay's role. He's an actually fast player, he doesn't appear lazy in terms of 2 way running (not saying Mackay is for the record), his disposal is ok, certainly on par or better than Dmac and when it's time to go into a contest or lay a tackle when a player has some steam up, he won't be completely brushed aside. I'd be pretty pissed off if we rule a line through Hampton based on him only being an inside player and then considered whether or how we replace Mackay with someone categorised as 'outside'. Pissed off, but obviously not surprised, because it would be so AFC. Only genuine plodders like Reilly, VB and Mackay are afforded the opportunity to find form in every position on the field. Young talent get pigeon-holed and either make it or don't with opportunity in only that role.
No words could express my anger if

a) Thommo returns or

b) Mackay stays in ahead of any player in that team bar one of Otten/Jenkins for structural reasons.

Kym Dillon was asking Laird why Cameron is no longer playing in the midfield and was he injured. Laird played it back with a straight bat, we are like North Korea when disclosing our injuries.

Or his pace is needed up forward, firstly to accommodate Otten replacing McGovern and then to accommodate JJ as he works his way back into form in the 1's instead of the 2's. The run he did last week suggested his explosiveness is still there, I think that there's still a fair chance that he's been re-deployed because the selectors couldn't bring themselves to replace Otto or have JJ get back up to speed in the 2's.

Changes v Brisbane