Votes: 93 60.4%
  • 48. Steely Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 49. Kaleb Smith

Votes: 2 1.3%

Wow norf supporters think we actually care about that result. I couldnt care less
The only thing I care about is their first round pick they're giving us

our midfielders are clueless at centre bounces. it's been the same for like 4 years

was two instances of Nank tapping it directly to them on the full and we still managed to loose those clearances

then the next one Nank just grabbed the ball and got the clearance himself because he knows anyone else is just gonna drop it or handball it to the opposition

I reckon we get first hands in the clearances as often as the opposition, we just dont have the ability or strength to get those handballs away to a teammate and keep the ball moving. Also watch how many times the first handball goes to someone standing still and he then coughs it up under pressure.

Has to be structure related IMO.

I reckon we get first hands in the clearances as often as the opposition, we just dont have the ability or strength to get those handballs away to a teammate and keep the ball moving. Also watch how many times the first handball goes to someone standing still and he then coughs it up under pressure.

Highlights our need for outside mids and users

Hopper, Dow and Taranto as you mentioned tend to either match or beat our opponents most weeks but we lack that guy on the outside to work through the traffic or get that clearance kick that isn’t just an in and under scrubber that gets picked off

Smillie seems like that type of player potentially but also something we need to address in future drafts

A lot to like about the game.

After that first QTR I thought we might have gotten pasted like some of the other teams in this round.

Loved that we hit the front multiple times and that we kept fighting back after falling a couple of goals behind multiple times.
Absolutely, of course I’m disappointed that we didn’t win but I’m happy with how we went about it

Got jumped in the first but responded really well and put ourselves in the position to win the game multiple times
That is what is important right now

We are going to loose a lot of games over the next few years but if we are fighting hard and giving ourselves legitimate opportunities to win it’s a big positive and something that we can build on

We also don't have any pacey, linebreaking outside runners who make the handballs look good and burst from stoppages.

It was a frustrating watch at times, even though we were in it to the end. Yet there is plenty to look forward in the coming years. My highlights for the game, was our second quarter, Hugo's goal & Lalor's mark & goal. If we can play more footy like the way we played the 2nd quarter, we will have a lot to look forward too over the next few years. Lalor is something special, the best player in yellow & black since Dusty imo. Can only imagine how good he will be after a few more pre-seasons. Also like the look of Sims, he shows something in the couple of games he has played. Faull probably needs a few games back in the VFL as well as Trainor, just to get them to catch a bit of form & bring them back after the bye to finish off the season playing seniors. Kane has had a couple of good games & needs to stay in the midfield & probably get more minutes, also love what Seth is doing at the moment & agree that Banks need to be left in the team where he is playing & make Short earn his spot back.
Trainor one of our best yesterday. I'm ok with giving the kids a rest, but I wouldn't consider dropping Trainor on form.

Hardwick took over a team that had made finals twice in the preceding 27-years

This is ridiculous! It wouldn't have mattered if those 27 years had been filled with premierships because the players from that long ago wouldn't have been on the list, in any case, by the time he took over. The fact is, by 2013 (effectively, 2012) we literally had half the players who would go onto win a flag in 2017. Not only that, those 11 were the prime movers. Those 11 included the players who received 27 of a possible 30 votes in the Norm Smith Medal in 2017. The 11 that we added, after 2013, were largely bit players and it's debatable whether they were any better than those who were involved in 2013's losing elimination final against Carlton.

The 11 players that we replaced played a total of 1,891 games at an average of 172 games and included the 200-gamers Brett Deledio, Chris Newman, and Troy Chaplin and the 150-gamers Shane Tuck, Ivan Maric, Daniel Jackson, and Reece Conca. The player with the least games was Ricky Petterd (with 84). Amazingly, the 11 players that we brought in have played a total of 1,882 games (not including the weekend's round) at an average of 171 games.

Therefore, it's far from clear that we made a massive upgrade to our list from 2013 to 2017. More likely, Hardwick learnt to be a better coach and the club arranged for the right people to be around him.

Thought we played much better this week, and I thought Norf played much better than WCE.
I reckon Lynch cops too much grief here. He battles two every contest and rarely gets a slick lead up pass.
Taranto & Hopper are smashing in so hard at the contest. Didn’t result in a clearance win but massive numbers of stoppages. Taking a lot of physical heat.
Nank will sleep well. Another that gives 100% physically. Xerri is a monster and didn’t have huge impact.
Sammy. Just grouse watching him grow. A bit more electricity in his game today.
Banks. Working into that handball receive role well. Was at 275m gained at end of Q1. DE 33%. hmmm.
Vlas and Broady were again great behind the ball, esp early when Norf were dominant. I reckon Vlas was cooked by 3qt.
Miller. Long way to go but I'm seeing Harris Andrews vibes about him. Takes a strong contested mark, is never beaten in the air.
Brown. Good again.
Macca, quiet early but came good. Same with HRS.
Seth. Grouse.
Dow. What he does is very good. Takes physical heat better than his shape would suggest. Up the disposal numbers and he becomes a weapon.
Mansell. If he doesn't get ripped in the review I'll spew. In a close game he gave away stupid, selfish free kicks that cost us. Could've been called on a couple more also. That's not tough football.
Do you give Jonty a rest, or is this exactly what "putting games into the kids" means? Same with Sims. A couple of really positive highlights each week..but little to no impact on the game. I reckon keep playing but would understand if we backed them off for a week. Steely a bit the same, but he is getting in to the contest and helping with F50 pressure.
Trainor. Cooked? Need a rest?
Jack Ross. Good again. Would like him to get inside 50 a bit more. He is good around goal but didn't get it much inside 50 even tho he lined up there.
Kmac2. Like him. If he can fix the radar on his thumping left foot he'll be very damaging.

Changes.
Out: Balta, Smith
In: Blight/Gray, Sonsie,

I don’t understand why a few of you have said you don’t care about the result. Well I care. I care a lot. We should never lose to bloody North. It was important to win this to try and stay above them in my opinion.

I may be ‘old and not understand the modern game’ but some things yesterday were just not good enough. We can't seem to get the ball out of the middle, we handball far too much and often to someone already under the pump, and we seem to kick it anywhere and hope for the best.

I partially agree with the criticism of Vlastuin, especially the instance close to the boundary line. I know he has many credits in the bank and has saved us numerous times, but a player of his experience should have been able to kill that ball somehow and not let them run off with it and score a goal. I forgive him though.

I'm not looking forward to the next match. I think Essendon will come out breathing fire and thrash us. Sadly, after the Eagles win last night, I can see us finishing bottom and I just don't want to be last again.

Wow norf supporters think we actually care about that result. I couldnt care less
We win, pick 3, we lose pick 2. We win pick two. We lose pick 3. Hey Norf.....

1000007387.gif

Norf are always playing out of their skins Richmond game
Their bandwagon supporters pencil in the Richmond game for their one game of the year.
Why alot of Norf fans can't hop quick enough to their grand final game against the Tigers.
We really are their grand final.
Even when we were dominating,Norf would play their little leggies against us.

I was expecting what we saw in the first quarter.
But to come back and nearly win it was a positive for me.

There is absolutely no bloody doubt we are everyone's grand final.

How many bloody times do we have to realise this?

Like it says in my sig.

We are the hunted.

Time to hunt back!

But a positive and a step back from my above comments is that we are a team learning structures this year and how to turn them into wins very soon which will happen.

Watch Essendon run there little leggies off this week.

Now it's up to the hunted Tiger to Hunt back!

Absolutely, of course I’m disappointed that we didn’t win but I’m happy with how we went about it

This doesn't make any sense because "how we went about it" was why we lost; as others have pointed out, we gave away silly frees, missed gettable shots at goal, and experienced players let us down in key moments

Where the **** was the free kick to Tim lunch with red headed prick holding his left arm in the last 40 secs

Tom Lynch is (unofficially, of course) blacklisted by the umpires - designated to only receive about one in five of the free kicks that he's entitled to and about one in 10 of the free kicks that Harry McKay or Charlie Curnow would receive but this'll continue for a long as our spineless management refuses to take it up with the AFL

Thank Christ for that! At last, we've found another contributor to this board who watches games with their eyes open.
It took 20 pages to get there, but Shandi has a mate. Post of the thread so far.

200-5.gif

Autopsy Roast & Toast for North & Changes for Dreamtime v Essendon