Autopsy Terrific win against Melbourne

Again a come from behind victory against the odds, for a young team the self belief they are showing is very pleasing.
The enigma that is Ben..err Sam Reid. Maybe it was being Buddy-less that made the difference for Reid, but he really stood up as a target up front and responded. PMc and TMc down back just get better with every game.
Errol with ice in his veins, and that set shot with around 5 mins left , class that belies his age.
All in all a effort that was worthy of the Bloods spirit and celebrating the history of South Melbourne/Sydney , showing the future is in good hands.

I was up off the lounge, punching the air multiple times last night. Ripper game. Character building for a young side to see what they can do just through pure effort and pressure. We've got some classy young players coming through but nothing is more important than work ethic and supporting your team mates. Everyone cracked in.

Max Gawn is the best player in the comp bar none. He was superhuman last night and has amassed so many of those types of games now that I think he deserves to sit alongside Buddy & Dusty as the best of his generation. Very nearly single-handedly beat us at our best.

Last night I was like **** he is gonna win it himself

Unbelievable player

I haven't seen such a dominant display in years. He was epic.

No way is he any where near Franklin

Come on seriously mate , you forget buddy has been a gin since very early age and consistently

Gawn good of late but no where as a youngster

No way is he any where near Franklin

Come on seriously mate , you forget buddy has been a gin since very early age and consistently

Gawn good of late but no where as a youngster

Gawn had injuries in his first four seasons, only managed 26 games. Went into main ruck role in 2015. And been All Australian every year since 2016 bar one. Since he's been fit he has been a force. Not gonna hold being injury-plagued early on against him. He's done what he's done after 2 ACLs, by the way.

Not in franklins league

I agree. I think Buddy's truly in a league of his own because he's been every bit as amazing as Dusty & Gawn but for twice as long. I was just saying that if you were looking at the best few of their generation, Gawn deserves to be in that category now.

Footy is so much better when you don’t have to listen to Daisy Pearce.

Having said that - we still got Eric Gulden and Ben Reid having great games.

I think if we end up playing Melbourne in a final, you can't just let Gawn back into packs like he does without earning it.

If he wants to stand 20m out from goal under every high ball then he needs to feel serious contact each time.

Amartey was good for structure and played the role to a tee. He didn't clunk marks and kick goals which you hope for a key forward but he gave an active small brigade every opportunity to ply their trade. Does he look like he could have a consistent impact at the level ? Still not convinced.

I was expecting him to be Ladhams’ primary chop-out in the ruck. He wasn’t - Reid was.

A fairly quiet game, but as you point out, he did compete pretty well & bring it to ground.

I still see more upside in Armatey than I do McLean.

Cannot believe the crowd booing the Papley in the back decision even as big screen showing, not one, but two knees right into middle of Pap's back and pretty much using him as a human sled. And of course the commentators doing their best to say he got lucky looking at the same vision even in slo-mo. JFC
Was at a party last night and the host put the game on for me. One campaigner (who I am pretty sure said he only goes for the teams that are winning) said it was a bullshit free because Papley caused him to trip and knee him in the back. Then after Papley kicked the goal declared the game was "invalid" because of it