Autopsy Started off 2024 in style terrific hard fought win against Melbourne by 22 points

Man that was so great to watch us pull away. A really mature performance against what's still a really quality side.

When Fritsch kicked his second in a row from that dodgy play on call to put them in front, the 2023 side would have folded but we played a really strong brand of footy.

The humidity was horrific so I won't pick on the skill errors meaning the only slight concern is our forward line. I'm not convinced at all that Logan, McLean and Amartey all work together and if Ladhams' pre-season is the real deal, one of them could is playing 2's. If Reid is fit then surely he gets a crack too over what Amartey showed tonight.

The best part is that there is miles of improvement left here. Gulden and Chad were quiet before working into the last quarter and Parker could be an absolute weapon as a full time forward which is where I hope we play him. Not to mention Adams and Mills coming back.

There was so much to like tonight. Can't wait to see how we stack up against the Pies at the G next week.

It’s only one game, but fair dinkum Grundy was amazing. He just toyed with Gawn after half-time and that is really hard to do. Made our midfield look so much better.

Heeney was brilliant too. Will definitely give the selectors a headache when Parker and Adams return from injury.

Most players did their role well. Do worry a bit about the forwards but once Amartey got subbed out for Wicks things functioned a lot better up there.

Very good win.

Looked to me like two teams who were playing a week after they'd played pre-season games and who were playing earlier in the year than they should've/normally would've been.

I commented at half time that the winner wouldn't be who played the best, but who didn't play the worst, and that's pretty much how it unfolded. There was absolutely nothing different about what we did in that 4th quarter from the rest of the game. We still just bombed it in, we still fumbled lots of ground balls, we still made poor decisions. We just stuck at it for longer than Melbourne did and rewarded ourselves for our hard work. It bodes incredibly well for both a) our fitness, which was a massive issue last year, and b) our upside, as our skill level will only get better as we work into the season.

I also think the introduction of Wicks into the game at the expense of a tall proved effective in this regard.

Heeney was BOG, and that was probably the best game of his career. In a career that has had some excellent games with bags of goals, marks etc. For me it was just the ticker he showed. Cracking into every contest, working tirelessly. It was just a colossal performance.

Grundy was also very good, and got better as the game went on. I felt like the constant free kicks to Gawn throughout the first half really stagnated his game. He looked frustrated like he couldn't really get into the rhythm because it was constantly being interrupted by the umpires whistle.

I also want to shout out players like Florent, Campbell & Papley, who were awesome in the first half but didn't really get the recognition they deserved because we weren't putting it on the scoreboard like we did in the fourth.

Great start to the year.

The way Heeney parted the seas tonight through the mids was ****ing sexy.

After an arm wrestle in the first half with Gawn slightly on top, Grundy put the foot down and put in an elite second half to clearly take the choccies. He keeps that up we'll be an absolute weapon.

Jordon had a shocker in the first half, but worked his way into it really well in the second. Had some poor moments but was also on the end of some really poor kicks and handballs. Not his night but showed some ticker.

Blakey was brilliant. Took on a little more than he could chew by foot in the first half but settled. We all rave about his kicking but honestly his handballing can be equally innovative and impactful. And had some great defensive moments. Probably our second BOG behind Heeney.

McDonald another player who worked his way into the game after a shocking first half. But in a game where no tall forwards on either side had a good night, he probably had the second least bad after McLean (who also had a shocking first half but worked his way into it in the second).

Warner stepped up in a big way in the final quarter. Generally looks much more settled and organised compared to last year. Could be a big year for him.

Roberts really solid and composed. Looking like a young Callum Mills in a lot of ways. Smothered kick his only real poor moment that I noticed.

There's gonna be some really tough selection decisions when Parker, Mills and Adams come back, not to mention Sheldrick knocking at the door. Good problem to have!

MCLean Amartey McDonald didn’t seem like a good combo in the practice match and again it feels one too many after tonight.

Wasn’t a great visual match with the fumbling but as it was both teams having problems it made it intriguing to watch and in the end winners are
Grinners.

Gawn must have got a feel
For the umpires on the night as some of his pushes in the back we’re so blatant you had to be confident you could get away with it.

The way I felt at three quarter time was the usual pessimism so very nice to get that early 4th quarter push.

Blakey
Heeney
Backline as a group
Rowbottom
And Late Warner

All worth mentioning

To have a few down on expectations it’s a really important win whilst getting used to the real thing.

Fantastic to not be facing a weekend on a downer

Brilliant

Oh and the Van Royan goal, as we got the chocolates I can now laugh at that one after bouncing off his head onto his shin

Heeney was just BOG by a mile.

Grundy worth the price and more turned the game in the 3rd, Wicks thankgod we didnt wait to long to sub him in.

Papley was lively, Warner hailmary from 60 eventually payed off but still would like to see him know his limitations.

Blakey very good overall our defence was solid without to much fuss.

Forward line did not work till we subbed a tall out for Wicks so going forward i dont know how Amartey, Logan and McLean will work efficiently.

Not night games at the SCG, just too dewy.

Edit: Referring to 3 tall forwards. Arguably, Wicks should have been in the 22 and Amartey watching from the grandstand. Conditions suited Gus as sub.

Man that was so great to watch us pull away. A really mature performance against what's still a really quality side.

When Fritsch kicked his second in a row from that dodgy play on call to put them in front, the 2023 side would have folded but we played a really strong brand of footy.

The humidity was horrific so I won't pick on the skill errors meaning the only slight concern is our forward line. I'm not convinced at all that Logan, McLean and Amartey all work together and if Ladhams' pre-season is the real deal, one of them could is playing 2's. If Reid is fit then surely he gets a crack too over what Amartey showed tonight.

The best part is that there is miles of improvement left here. Gulden and Chad were quiet before working into the last quarter and Parker could be an absolute weapon as a full time forward which is where I hope we play him. Not to mention Adams and Mills coming back.

There was so much to like tonight. Can't wait to see how we stack up against the Pies at the G next week.
The bolded part was the takeaway for me. The 2023 demon reared its head but the players really responded.

Such a mature performance, particularly given our 3 most mature midfielders were out of the game.

Plenty of upside. If we keep winning the season will really open up for us and allow us to finish off the H&A season at our own pace and on our own terms.

I'm amped. Particularly given how much upside we still have.

Great performance by a majority of the team. And even the role players contributed.

I've been wandering the streets of Kusadasi, chewing my fingernails to the elbow, determined not to check the score......

Just turned my phone back on.....

❤️WHAT A FREAKING BRILLIANT RESULT ❤️

God I love this football team ❤️❤️❤️❤️
The first town in Turkiye that I ever set foot on, having caught the ferry from Greek island of Samos. Loved it and the country. Was no way of checking the footy scores back in 1992 though, not live in real time at least.

Fox was serviceable up forward but I think Parker edges him out with his cleaner ball use. A little bit before he comes back but I'd probably swap fox and Roberts and leave Parker mostly up forward swapping with Heeney in the guts

Grundy makes me very happy. No disrespect to Ruck Jesus or our other workhouse rucks we have had but he is a genuine number one ruck and his work today was immense. After Gawn has given us a hiding last couple of years to see Grundy not only match him then run in to the ground was sweet.
Great win good team performance great way to start the year.

Fox was serviceable up forward but I think Parker edges him out with his cleaner ball use. A little bit before he comes back but I'd probably swap fox and Roberts and leave Parker mostly up forward swapping with Heeney in the guts
Fox in the forward line was a forced move. I don't think Horse would have him up there if he had an alternative choice.

I love Fox, particularly in defence. But he's depth imo, but a great depth player to have, and one that will give us 100% effort. Those players are gold in a quest for a premiership.

Good result.

Grundy was highly impressive. Was better than Gawn throughout.

Gulden one of his quieter games

Warner was the catalyst in the last quarter

Heeney showing what he is capable of.

Blakey had a lot of great moment off half-back

Roberts, McCartin, Rowbottom, and a few others good.

Great start to the year!

that's actually a really good thing ... gulden wasn't at his best tonight, but hasn't there been a story that he was crook for a few weeks during preseason? ... maybe he's not 100 per cent yet
but with him off his game, we still looked like the better side most of the night, we always had an answer when they got a bit of a surge ... and i think the grundy-gawn battle was symbolic of the whole game, it was back and forth but grundy just kept at gawn, and overpowered him ... and that probably lifted us to do the same to melbourne
heeney was a star, hayward, warner, rowbottom and mcinerney all contributed and had some really big moments
you could argue blakey was best on ground, he's a super player
melican terrific, mccartin, florent and rampe had good moments in a defence that did a pretty good job all night
and a big nod to wicks, who was possibly the difference ... he livened everything up, real energy, kicked a goal and got really involved, and with him on momentum really shifted our way

Grundy was awesome on debut, what a beast he was. And Blakey was a machine from start to finish.

But Heeney was BOG for mine - in a game where fumbling was the order of the day he was very sure handed.

A great win but some things to clean up, which is not unusual for round one.

Onto the anti-dentals!

After last week, it just reinforces practice games mean nothing.

Unfortunately too humid tonight which contributed to a tough night for skills.

Great last quarter where last year we tended to fade or just hang on for the win.

One too many tallls up forward didn’t work. Other than that Longmire out coached the Demons.

Best part is taking the fizz out of the Clayton Oliver return and media hype. Was funny listening to the commentary finally giving into the Dee's capitulation and having to turn to giving us credit

Autopsy Started off 2024 in style terrific hard fought win against Melbourne by 22 points