Carey or Ablett

Pretty average game

By his standards it was. He still landed a goal assist, what should have been another (Buddha misses a soda from an Ablett handpass) to go with his 3 goals, an unlucky poster from outside 50 and 17 disposals.

If your forward flankers are giving you 4 or 5 direct goal contributions, having a few other score involvements and getting the ball what would be 20+ times in today's game - you're pretty happy. I.e he wasn't the saviour that day (God mode) but he wasn't culpable either. West Coast had an outstanding defence. Geelong had Ablett and Brownless, but nobody else up there.

You've admitted you struggle with the English language. "Do you even English bro" has at least 3 grammatical errors.

So a qualified obsession would be like an expert. But we can scale that back to someone who has seen a lot of stuff on that topic and has big opinions that they are passionate about. Backed up by facts and first hand knowledge.

Unqualified? When the person has absolutely no idea. Where it's odd for them to be so obsessed in the first place.

Furious indignation on the Ablett's standing in the game firmly fits into this unqualified obsession category. Similar to if I started spending 10 hours a day screeching "Coventry wasn't that good".

“Do you even English bro” is a deliberate pun ya doofus 🤣

I’m the one backing the qualified opinions. Mine is the same as theirs, so you really have no clue what you are talking about. Having lengthy deranged rants doesn’t make you smart.

Ablett was a utility.
He played half back, wing, half forward and full forward. I reckon he also attempted more shots on goal from a ruck contest than any other player in the modern era.

Ah yes GAS the backman and ruckman pfff 🤣🤣🤣

Thanks for showing us who’s actually the delusion one here

By his standards it was. He still landed a goal assist, what should have been another (Buddha misses a soda from an Ablett handpass) to go with his 3 goals, an unlucky poster from outside 50 and 17 disposals.

If your forward flankers are giving you 4 or 5 direct goal contributions, having a few other score involvements and getting the ball what would be 20+ times in today's game - you're pretty happy. I.e he wasn't the saviour that day (God mode) but he wasn't culpable either. West Coast had an outstanding defence. Geelong had Ablett and Brownless, but nobody else up there.

The 1992 GF was an above average game for Ablett. 1994 and 1995 is what he is like most of the time in GFs. That’s why I don’t rate him as a tier 1 player in the history of the game and neither does the AFL, he is not even Legend status for gods sake.

No I’d imagine that has a lot more to do with his off field scandal than the fact that they don’t tend to make those judgements based off two matches across a 240 game career.

Fairly sure the AFL panels that decide these things don’t sit around pouring over every match with a fine tooth comb going ‘whoa look here. Ok he played the greatest grand final ever but he also had two quiet ones, across a remarkable career. Nope. We can’t confer legend status on him.’

The fact that you actually look at legend status as a means of rating someone’s playing ability is yet another tick in the box of why no one takes your footballing opinions seriously.

How many goals does Legend Status kick, exactly?

Barry Cable isn’t a legend anymore. He must have been just not good enough right?
No hang on, it’s because of off field issues so he’s not considered for the honour anymore.

Well luckily since you never watched him, your "unqualified obsession" has no merit whatsoever.

You can "for god sake" all you like. I'm happy to nudge another 1000 Ablett-centric posts out of you.

Ablett played as a winger/half forward while those players spent more time in the stay at home positions.
No he didn't. He played on the wing in 1984 and played up forward from 1985-1996

Singling out the occasional game (or quarter) where he played up the ground as your reasoning for labelling him as a wing/half forward is just a crock of bullshit.

Every single AFL player spends a few minutes (or a quarter) in unfamiliar positions, or plays the occasional game in an unfamiliar role (everyone apart from the one-dimensional specialist behemoths who play only in the ruck, or at full back or full forward.)

We don't call Luke Hodge a ruckman or a full forward or a centre half back because he sometimes played in those positions.
Sam Mitchell was not a half back flanker because he played a few games there.

Robert Flower was a wing/half forward
Wayne Schimmelbusch was a wing/half forward
Mick Turner was a wing/half forward
Isaac Smith was a wing/half forward

Ablett sr was a forward.

Ah yes GAS the backman and ruckman pfff 🤣🤣🤣

Thanks for showing us who’s actually the delusion one here

There's a video about to come out which goes over his entire career and I think you may have some egg on your face when you see how versatile he was (in his younger years).
He did indeed play across half back during spells in 1987, 1989 and 1992. No better example of this than the 1989 State of Origin when he played back pocket for a half.

And I never said he played ruck. Merely pointed out he would jump at ruck contests, grab the ball and kick at goal. Did it consistently. Sometimes he kicked the goal but on most occasions missed.

No he didn't. He played on the wing in 1984 and played up forward from 1985-1996

Singling out the occasional game (or quarter) where he played up the ground as your reasoning for labelling him as a wing/half forward is just a crock of bullshit.

Every single AFL player spends a few minutes (or a quarter) in unfamiliar positions, or plays the occasional game in an unfamiliar role (everyone apart from the one-dimensional specialist behemoths who play only in the ruck, or at full back or full forward.)

We don't call Luke Hodge a ruckman or a full forward or a centre half back because he sometimes played in those positions.
Sam Mitchell was not a half back flanker because he played a few games there.

Robert Flower was a wing/half forward
Wayne Schimmelbusch was a wing/half forward
Mick Turner was a wing/half forward
Isaac Smith was a wing/half forward

Ablett sr was a forward.

So half forward isn’t forward now. That’s good to know, Take a s**t. Thanks.

No I’d imagine that has a lot more to do with his off field scandal than the fact that they don’t tend to make those judgements based off two matches across a 240 game career.

Fairly sure the AFL panels that decide these things don’t sit around pouring over every match with a fine tooth comb going ‘whoa look here. Ok he played the greatest grand final ever but he also had two quiet ones, across a remarkable career. Nope. We can’t confer legend status on him.’

The fact that you actually look at legend status as a means of rating someone’s playing ability is yet another tick in the box of why no one takes your footballing opinions seriously.

How many goals does Legend Status kick, exactly?

Barry Cable isn’t a legend anymore. He must have been just not good enough right?
No hang on, it’s because of off field issues so he’s not considered for the honour anymore.

The thing is GAS is apparently innocent and wasn’t an inaugural Legend in 1996 which should been done if he was the GOAT. He had a few years before his scandal as well to get in.

So he just wasn’t good enough sorry.

It's far more accurate to call him a Half Forward-Full Forward than a Wing-Half Forward

And I'm not talking about 1993-1996.

I'm referring to the vast majority of minutes & games he played from 1985-1992

he was literally a half forward for most of it. Yes of course like absolutely anyone who plays anywhere in the forward 6 he will get inside the forward 50 at times but that was his spot.
Brownless had back to back 80 goal seasons in 91-92. Where exactly do you think he was playing in order to do that?
The thing is GAS is apparently innocent and wasn’t an inaugural Legend in 1996 which should been done if he was the GOAT. He had a few years before his scandal as well to get in.

So he just wasn’t good enough sorry.

Yeah see they’re not usually in the habit of inducting players as legends while they’re still playing - the five year retirement criteria tends to impinge on that somewhat.

Christ you’re stupid.

he was literally a half forward for most of it. Yes of course like absolutely anyone who plays anywhere in the forward 6 he will get inside the forward 50 at times but that was his spot.
Brownless had back to back 80 goal seasons in 91-92. Where exactly do you think he was playing in order to do that?

Yeah see they’re not usually in the habit of inducting players as legends while they’re still playing - the five year retirement criteria tends to impinge on that somewhat.

Christ you’re stupid.

Hence why I mentioned inaugural legend mate I know. He retired in 1996 no?

Regardless he’s innocent so what’s the problem? Right?

Hence why I mentioned inaugural legend mate I know. He retired in 1996 no?

Regardless he’s innocent so what’s the problem? Right?

Yes and there were legends inducted that year. How the hell would he be inducted that year. He hadn’t been retired at all let alone the minimum requirement for being in the hall of fame.

He announced his official retirement at the conclusion of 1997 yes?

Why do you find this so hard to grasp?

Does this stuff keep you awake at night?

Ablett HIMSELF asked to have his nomination for the hall of fame withdrawn.

Yes and there were legends inducted that year. How the hell would he be inducted that year. He hadn’t been retired at all let alone the minimum requirement for being in the hall of fame.

He announced his official retirement at the conclusion of 1997 yes?

Why do you find this so hard to grasp?

Does this stuff keep you awake at night?

Ablett HIMSELF asked to have his nomination for the hall of fame withdrawn.

So he’s innocent and only made the bench in the TOC. Seems like the AFL thinks he just isn’t good enough and so does GAS. Case closed, he can’t be in tier 1.

Smells like you can’t get over the fact that he made it at all to be honest.

You said he is innocent right? So I don’t see the problem why he couldn’t get in.

Unless of course everybody thinks he isn’t.

But even then why would the AFL put their GOAT on the bench. It’s embarrassing tbh.

You said he is innocent right? So I don’t see the problem why he couldn’t get in.

Unless of course everybody thinks he isn’t.

But even then why would the AFL put their GOAT on the bench. It’s embarrassing tbh.

You realise you’re arguing with someone who has stated numerous times in this actual thread that I don’t even think he’s necessarily better than Wayne Carey don’t you?

Yeah it’s real embarrassing to be picked in a 21 man team nominated from 100 years of football. Out of the 16,000 or so people to have played league football at that level, that’s the word I’d use to describe someone being picked as one of the best. Embarrassing. It’s embarrassing that the greatest names involved in the game getting together thought ‘we will pick the best 21 of all time - we will go through the record books and we will include everyone that’s ever laced on a boot for discussion. We will include just three players that have been active within the last decade, and he is one of them.’

It’s real embarrassing hey.

What I would suggest is embarrassing, is being so obsessed by a player who retired before I was born, that I keep frequenting an online community of people I’ve never met, because they don’t agree with the fact that I can’t get over the general opinion they hold about a guy I never watched, based, more or less, on the fact that he played for a club I have a real chip on my shoulder about, and no matter how many times I get banned I keep coming back, and even when my account is suspended, I keep reading the posts about the same topic, so that I’m ready to restart the same arguments when my suspension is over.

That’s slightly more embarrassing than being named in the team or the century.

TBH.

You realise you’re arguing with someone who has stated numerous times in this actual thread that I don’t even think he’s necessarily better than Wayne Carey don’t you?

Yeah it’s real embarrassing to be picked in a 21 man team nominated from 100 years of football. Out of the 16,000 or so people to have played league football at that level, that’s the word I’d use to describe someone being picked as one of the best. Embarrassing. It’s embarrassing that the greatest names involved in the game getting together thought ‘we will pick the best 21 of all time - we will go through the record books and we will include everyone that’s ever laced on a boot for discussion. We will include just three players that have been active within the last decade, and he is one of them.’

It’s real embarrassing hey.

What I would suggest is embarrassing, is being so obsessed by a player who retired before I was born, that I keep frequenting an online community of people I’ve never met, because they don’t agree with the fact that I can’t get over the general opinion they hold about a guy I never watched, based, more or less, on the fact that he played for a club I have a real chip on my shoulder about, and no matter how many times I get banned I keep coming back, and even when my account is suspended, I keep reading the posts about the same topic, so that I’m ready to restart the same arguments when my suspension is over.

That’s slightly more embarrassing than being named in the team or the century.

TBH.

Then stop arguing me then, like are you just trolling?

No him being this overrated is embarrassing. You guys think he’s an apparently elite backman and ruckman ffs

Pretty average game

Was that hodgepodge who put this together?
Where are all his other disposals?

I mean Ablett had to go into the backline in order to get his hands on the footy in the third quarter as Matera and West Coast had the ball in their half of the ground. Matera single-handedly flipped the game on it's head as they scored 37 points to 8 in the third term.
This is why Ablett cops unfair certisicm in his last two grand final performances. That Geelong team had no backline. They often were carved up in a single quarter of footy against the best teams such as West Coast, Hawthorn and Carlton.