- Jul 8, 2016
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
How aboutMy God Geoff, you have some bloody weird opinions.
Milera out for Thommo would have to be up there with your worst.
Out; MacKay
In; Thommo

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
How aboutMy God Geoff, you have some bloody weird opinions.
Milera out for Thommo would have to be up there with your worst.
Imo, we have been playing underdone & unhealthy players the last few weeks, such that we have too many passengers not contributing & making us vulnerable.
Doesn't make sense given we have fit & in form players in the sanfl. Appear to making similar selection mistakes to last year.
We were playing good football when we had an even contribution from all.
Who's this Antoine guy?We've dropped people who have minor niggles, such as Lever and Knight.
Why would Antoine think other players are "carrying injuries"?
Maybe they've just been shit, and that is why they haven't contributed.
So many times in the first half we had Atkins all alone at a ball up and Jacobs rarely tried to use him. Either his tap work isn't working our our midfielders are not getting to the right spots. Considering the crazy amount of taps Sauce won i say it is his tap work that is not up to scratch atm. What is the point in dominating the ruck taps if we don't take advantage of it.I said before last week's match that our biggest problem was centre clearances. Despite being 6-0 we were -7 for centre clearances. Unbelievably we lost the centre clearances to both Essendon and Gold Coast. Over the first 6 games we were +13 for stoppages which made our overall clearance numbers look O.K.
In the last two weeks we have broken even at stoppages (55 - 55) but we have lost the centre clearances 17 to 41. Last Saturday Sauce won the tap outs 76 - 29 but we lost the centre clearances 6 to 18. That's like giving the opposition 12 additional inside 50's.
What can we do? Firstly we need to bring in the best centre clearance player in the Twos. The Mighty THOR has been averaging more than 7 clearances a game plus a load of tackles.
Secondly we need to have our best clearance players in the centre clearances. I know it is robbing Peter etc but I am inclined to give Rory Laird 3 or 4 weeks to see what he can achieve.
I'd give Andy Otten a crack in the midfield if we're at desperation point and talking bringing in a clearly underdone Thommo. Andy's a big solid body and is one player that's not frightened to get aggressive and combine that with his top end footy smarts why not? Did play some midfield early in his career and was quite impressive. Even if only to use his big body and aggression to block and intimidate some of these dirty Sloane taggers. He's one bloke in our side I reckon you could rely on to carry out the coaches instructions and if that was to niggle and scrag the tagger Andy would relish the opportunity. Yeah, it's left field but someone has to step up and give some fair dinkum support to Rory. Reckon Andy would have 2017 Thommo for pace and endurance most likely too.![]()
I think you'll find quite a few people are willing to entertain the idea but the reality is that the selectors are likely to drop Otten, who is the inferior player in slightly better form.
Certainly would mean that we've given up on organic growth
There is no way Cameron is anywhere near 100% fit & I doubt Hartigan is either.We've dropped people who have minor niggles, such as Lever and Knight.
Hartigans problem is that this year he and talia have swapped roles, possibly so Talia can kick more and avoid hartigans kicking out of defence which is sometimes iffy. As a result he is getting isolated and exposed more often. Clearly hasn't worked.You are so right with Hartigan. Iffy. As a defender he needs EVERYTHING going just right around his playing zone. Any cracks in our defence and he is very suspect.
I hope Dmac goes and Thommo stays in the sanfl but out of the 2 decisions if Thommo plays I'll be furiousNo words could express my anger if
a) Thommo returns or
b) Mackay stays in ahead of any player in that team bar one of Otten/Jenkins for structural reasons.
There is no way Cameron is anywhere near 100% fit & I doubt Hartigan is either.
We have brought in Jenkins, Brouch & Knight lacking a decent preparation.
When we are carrying too many players, we will be found out against most sides... as the zone can be more easily broken down & 2 way running suffers.
Hartigan, Brown and Kelly are the LEAST of our problems currentlyAlso on Harto, Talia has been pretty ordinary as well. As have all defenders when our mids are comprehensively beaten and the balls coming in under little pressure.
I wouldn't drop Hampton given Menzel is likely to drop out, Kelly is also a distinct possibility IMO.Been through this are we predicting the selectors or your own prediction
If its selectors
Mackay, Hampton Out
Greenwood , Lever in
If it was me
JJ, Hampton , Mackay Out
Lever, Greenwood, Wigg in
So basically we've learnt nothing from last year.Imo, we have been playing underdone & unhealthy players the last few weeks, such that we have too many passengers not contributing & making us vulnerable.
Doesn't make sense given we have fit & in form players in the sanfl. Appear to making similar selection mistakes to last year.
We were playing good football when we had an even contribution from all.
What is also shows is the structure of the SANFL doesn't help guys press their cases.So basically we've learnt nothing from last year.
Sanfl is only good practice for inside mids. Outside players, backs and forwards get little development in the sanfl IMO.What is also shows is the structure of the SANFL doesn't help guys press their cases.
It's not their job to help us but it's a poor situation
I wouldn't drop Hampton given Menzel is likely to drop out, Kelly is also a distinct possibility IMO.
Like the inclusions though.
So you think it's a coincidence Charlie was killing it as a mid, comes off with sore leg/groin and has spent the remaining games up forward?We've dropped people who have minor niggles, such as Lever and Knight.
It's interesting isn't it. He certainly appears under some sort of cloud but we haven't heard much from the club whereas we hear others mentioned all the time.So you think it's a coincidence Charlie was killing it as a mid, comes off with sore leg/groin and has spent the remaining games up forward?
I think 1970crow's point is right about us losing speed and pressure up forward through no McGovern (and I guess no Knight to a degree) has meant that we've needed Charlie up there.So you think it's a coincidence Charlie was killing it as a mid, comes off with sore leg/groin and has spent the remaining games up forward?
If it's confidence, I'd give him Hampton's role for 3+ weeks and see what he's got. Rotate to the back flank and find some footy there as well. He's too unique and damaging to waste away like the last few rounds...or he could be injured!It's interesting isn't it. He certainly appears under some sort of cloud but we haven't heard much from the club whereas we hear others mentioned all the time.
He is a confidence player mind you, that may explain a loss of 'zip'
Hampton should do the forward with small stints upfield role. Tackles, chases but still an offensive threat and dare I say it way more finishing skills in front of the sticks than Charlie.I think 1970crow's point is right about us losing speed and pressure up forward through no McGovern (and I guess no Knight to a degree) has meant that we've needed Charlie up there.
Walker, Jenkins, Lynch, Otten doesn't exactly scream frontal pressure