Changes v Brisbane

Do you think Scott Thompson WILL come in this week?

Imo, we have been playing underdone & unhealthy players the last few weeks, such that we have too many passengers not contributing & making us vulnerable.

Doesn't make sense given we have fit & in form players in the sanfl. Appear to making similar selection mistakes to last year.

We were playing good football when we had an even contribution from all.

We've dropped people who have minor niggles, such as Lever and Knight.

Why would Antoine think other players are "carrying injuries"?

Maybe they've just been shit, and that is why they haven't contributed.

Who's this Antoine guy?

I think, to avoid making the same mistakes as last year, omit all the injured players. Get them right first, then you can deal with the form. Although Mackay should be dropped even if he is the only fit squad member to choose from.... his game last week is symptomatic of the crows leaders in big games.
This week;
Out: Jenkins, Cameron, Menzel, Betts, Mackay.
In: Knight, Lever, Wigg, Greenwood and Galluci

Once you have weeded out the players that need time on the sidelines, then you can target the out of form players. Play Otten forward, Lever back, Wigg off half back. Greenwood, Galluci and Knight all rotate through the forward, mid, wing roles. With Jenkins and his pitiful efforts out, suddenly our team has some balance again. No surprise that we bring in a underdone and soft JJ, and our team defence goes the way of the dodo bird.

Obviously only one of these changes may happen, its the AFC after all (Always F***ing Cautious).

I said before last week's match that our biggest problem was centre clearances. Despite being 6-0 we were -7 for centre clearances. Unbelievably we lost the centre clearances to both Essendon and Gold Coast. Over the first 6 games we were +13 for stoppages which made our overall clearance numbers look O.K.

In the last two weeks we have broken even at stoppages (55 - 55) but we have lost the centre clearances 17 to 41. Last Saturday Sauce won the tap outs 76 - 29 but we lost the centre clearances 6 to 18. That's like giving the opposition 12 additional inside 50's.

What can we do? Firstly we need to bring in the best centre clearance player in the Twos. The Mighty THOR has been averaging more than 7 clearances a game plus a load of tackles.

Secondly we need to have our best clearance players in the centre clearances. I know it is robbing Peter etc but I am inclined to give Rory Laird 3 or 4 weeks to see what he can achieve.
So many times in the first half we had Atkins all alone at a ball up and Jacobs rarely tried to use him. Either his tap work isn't working our our midfielders are not getting to the right spots. Considering the crazy amount of taps Sauce won i say it is his tap work that is not up to scratch atm. What is the point in dominating the ruck taps if we don't take advantage of it.

I'd give Andy Otten a crack in the midfield if we're at desperation point and talking bringing in a clearly underdone Thommo. Andy's a big solid body and is one player that's not frightened to get aggressive and combine that with his top end footy smarts why not? Did play some midfield early in his career and was quite impressive. Even if only to use his big body and aggression to block and intimidate some of these dirty Sloane taggers. He's one bloke in our side I reckon you could rely on to carry out the coaches instructions and if that was to niggle and scrag the tagger Andy would relish the opportunity. Yeah, it's left field but someone has to step up and give some fair dinkum support to Rory. Reckon Andy would have 2017 Thommo for pace and endurance most likely too. :eek:

Yep, I'd give that a crack too. We should be coaches ;-)

I think you'll find quite a few people are willing to entertain the idea but the reality is that the selectors are likely to drop Otten, who is the inferior player in slightly better form.

Been through this are we predicting the selectors or your own prediction

If its selectors

Mackay, Hampton Out
Greenwood , Lever in

If it was me

JJ, Hampton , Mackay Out
Lever, Greenwood, Wigg in

There is no way Cameron is anywhere near 100% fit & I doubt Hartigan is either.

We have brought in Jenkins, Brouch & Knight lacking a decent preparation.

When we are carrying too many players, we will be found out against most sides... as the zone can be more easily broken down & 2 way running suffers.

You are so right with Hartigan. Iffy. As a defender he needs EVERYTHING going just right around his playing zone. Any cracks in our defence and he is very suspect.
Hartigans problem is that this year he and talia have swapped roles, possibly so Talia can kick more and avoid hartigans kicking out of defence which is sometimes iffy. As a result he is getting isolated and exposed more often. Clearly hasn't worked.

No words could express my anger if

a) Thommo returns or

b) Mackay stays in ahead of any player in that team bar one of Otten/Jenkins for structural reasons.
I hope Dmac goes and Thommo stays in the sanfl but out of the 2 decisions if Thommo plays I'll be furious

He has no sanfl form , is past it and we need to improve what we've got and picking him will be a wasted opportunity to improve what we've got moving forward to give us some sort of chance of playing in a prelim etc

If we pick Thommo we are holding back the development of the team and will rightfully finish 6-8th with a worse end to season than last year and with less momentum heading into next year

Dmac playing will be infuriating but not quite to same level

There is no way Cameron is anywhere near 100% fit & I doubt Hartigan is either.

We have brought in Jenkins, Brouch & Knight lacking a decent preparation.

When we are carrying too many players, we will be found out against most sides... as the zone can be more easily broken down & 2 way running suffers.

At the time we didnt need to bring in JJ we have had a tall team all year and the same goes with Knoight, having Beech, Greenwood and Wigg all doing well in the two's there was no need to bring those two back in, Bcrouch yes maybe as we need quality mids however he did come back through the two's and show he was good at SANFL level, so its hard to pick on that selection

Been through this are we predicting the selectors or your own prediction

If its selectors

Mackay, Hampton Out
Greenwood , Lever in

If it was me

JJ, Hampton , Mackay Out
Lever, Greenwood, Wigg in
I wouldn't drop Hampton given Menzel is likely to drop out, Kelly is also a distinct possibility IMO.

Like the inclusions though.

Imo, we have been playing underdone & unhealthy players the last few weeks, such that we have too many passengers not contributing & making us vulnerable.

Doesn't make sense given we have fit & in form players in the sanfl. Appear to making similar selection mistakes to last year.

We were playing good football when we had an even contribution from all.
So basically we've learnt nothing from last year.

I wouldn't drop Hampton given Menzel is likely to drop out, Kelly is also a distinct possibility IMO.

Like the inclusions though.

You could be right on Menzel/ hampton Im just dissapointed in Hampton but I think its fair to say he is an outside mid at best or HBF dont play him in the guts he doesnt find the pill enough if he has to go and get it, he is a receiver who can read the play off the HB line but nothing more on what he has shown

So you think it's a coincidence Charlie was killing it as a mid, comes off with sore leg/groin and has spent the remaining games up forward?

It's interesting isn't it. He certainly appears under some sort of cloud but we haven't heard much from the club whereas we hear others mentioned all the time.

He is a confidence player mind you, that may explain a loss of 'zip'

I think 1970crow's point is right about us losing speed and pressure up forward through no McGovern (and I guess no Knight to a degree) has meant that we've needed Charlie up there.

Walker, Jenkins, Lynch, Otten doesn't exactly scream frontal pressure

It's interesting isn't it. He certainly appears under some sort of cloud but we haven't heard much from the club whereas we hear others mentioned all the time.

He is a confidence player mind you, that may explain a loss of 'zip'
If it's confidence, I'd give him Hampton's role for 3+ weeks and see what he's got. Rotate to the back flank and find some footy there as well. He's too unique and damaging to waste away like the last few rounds...or he could be injured!

I think 1970crow's point is right about us losing speed and pressure up forward through no McGovern (and I guess no Knight to a degree) has meant that we've needed Charlie up there.

Walker, Jenkins, Lynch, Otten doesn't exactly scream frontal pressure
Hampton should do the forward with small stints upfield role. Tackles, chases but still an offensive threat and dare I say it way more finishing skills in front of the sticks than Charlie.

In fact, I reckon he would be great running off the back of the square like Betts/Cameron/Menzel do every now and then.

Personally I'd start with a 5 man forward line of Betts, Hampton, Beech, Walker, Lynch with Jenkins on the bench to start. Others rotate through during the game (Milera, Greenwood, Matt Crouch, Atkins).

Changes v Brisbane