Preview Changes vs Freo

Could not agree with you more, I was thinking exactly the same thing during the game, when he tried some dinky little kick that missed its mark entirely. Is he trying too hard now?
His kicking has deteriorated badly
Too many out on the full, high floating suicide passes, miskicks
Quite frankly it's beyond belief
Aside from the short 15 meter dink to an unmanned team mate it's appalling

Something is fundamentally wrong with his action. My son and I watched him carefully on Saturday
- this is a triple a grade player potentially but his kicking confidence is shot and even with his high volume of possessions his value to the team is becoming borderline

I don't know if his ball drop is too high, he leans back too much or he needs to strike the ball lower in the drop
Whatever it requires urgent and deep study

Something is fundamentally wrong with his action. My son and I watched him carefully on Saturday
- this is a triple a grade player potentially but his kicking confidence is shot and even with his high volume of possessions his value to the team is becoming borderline

I don't know if his ball drop is too high, he leans back too much or he needs to strike the ball lower in the drop

Agree with you entirely. I really hope the club is onto it because it needs addressing sooner than later before it becomes a bad habit.

I don't think it's confidence it's seems it's in his action.

Ayce Cordy-Zac Clarke
Fletcher Roberts-Matt Taberner
Michael Talia-Matthew Pavlich
Easton Wood-Chris Mayne
Jason Johannisen-Michael Walters
Daniel Pearce-Hayden Ballantyne

Robert Murphy +1

That's the back half done, i find it
amazing with our multitude of mini
men that none of them can defend.

Not sure where to put this but pretty excited to maybe see Zaine Cordy run around in the VFL this week, at 192cm+ wasn't he hyped as one of the better tall defenders in the draft? Hopefully he gets a good run at it!

Think I read in the preseason at some stage he's 194cm now, and he also looks like he will put on a bit more size than his brother. So he's big enough. I'm really excited to see him, reckon he fits into our defensive set up really well considering he's really quick and athletic and is good at reading the play and takes a heap of intercept marks which is exactly what we want with our zone defense. Also has quite lovely skills and offers a bit of run and rebound. That fits us to a tee. Can't wait to see how he goes.

Yeah Mick Turner from the falcons said he is the best defender they
have had since Matthew Scarlett which is high praise. His posture
and frame suggests he has not finished growing yet by a long shot
which is encouraging.

Think I read in the preseason at some stage he's 194cm now, and he also looks like he will put on a bit more size than his brother. So he's big enough. I'm really excited to see him, reckon he fits into our defensive set up really well considering he's really quick and athletic and is good at reading the play and takes a heap of intercept marks which is exactly what we want with our zone defense. Also has quite lovely skills and offers a bit of run and rebound. That fits us to a tee. Can't wait to see how he goes.
which is encouraging.

194cm and he may still grow, hopefully he gets to around 196cm and keeps all he's athletic traits, would be good having another player who would have no trouble playing a KPP or damaging the opposition of the half back, think Bevo will enjoy he's versatility haha pick 64 what a bargain

which is encouraging.
I thought mick said the same thing about hugh Goddard??? Mick talks a lot of bollocks I'm afraid

Article on the website about Toby McLean could be in line for a debut?
I hope so, considering how bad our small forwards are in front of goal (Dahl pretty good from general play but still used to be much better, Dickson lost all form in that regard, hope he gets it back soon, and Honey who just has no composure whatsoever in front of goal) I desperately want another small in the forward line who loves a goal and just thrives on those half chances, it's just about our biggest weakness atm, we get the ball i50 1000 times a game but fail to make the most of our opportunities. Sounds like both Dale and McLean can be that sort.

Agree with all except Dickson seems to be used more as a wingmen lately

Article on the website about Toby McLean could be in line for a debut?

Still think we lack a specialist small forward. Dahlhaus is getting heaps of midfield time (which is good) Dickson is moving around the ground more, Honey is playing some minutes in the midfield and I have extreme doubt on whether either Hunter or Hrovat could play as a small forward.

McLean is the player we need to develop into our Bruest/Elliott type. Need a player we can bank on kicking 2 to 3 goals each and every week.

Clarko has said (also commentators have refered to this) that he employs at least 12 players that rotate through the midfield during a game

If we employed this strategy which it looks as if we are then it still allows for
2 specialist tall forwards (T.Boyd + Stringer)
1 Specialist small forward (hopefully McLean)

3 permanent tall defenders (Talia + (hopefully Carlisle) and a third tall who offers rebound)
1 permanent medium defender (Wood)

Add in a permanent ruck (Cordy/Campbell/Upgraded option) + Roughead (3rd tall forward/ruck) and that still gives 13 players who rotate between the midfield and either the forward line or defence.

def/mids - Webb, JJ, Biggs (future murph replacement)
mid/for - Dahlhaus, Bontempelli, Jong, Honeychurch,
forward/mid - Crameri, Dickson
more permanent mids - Libba, Wallis, Macrae

Well theres 13 players that go through the midfield during a game. Also have Stevens/Hrovat/Hunter who can slot into those roles.

FB: Wood, Talia, Z.Cordy
HB: JJ, ****/Carlisle, Webb
C: Jong, Bontempelli, Macrae
HF: Crameri, Roughead, Dahlhaus
FF: McLean, Boyd, Stringer
R: ****, Libba, Wallis
Int: Honey, Dickson, Biggs,
Sub: Hrovat

BOLD: Set Position
Italic: Part of Mid rotation.

Agree with all except Dickson seems to be used more as a wingmen lately
Yeah he's spending a lot more time up the ground and doing really well. My favourite thing about him used to be that he was a deadeye in front of goals but now he just blazes away and misses. I don't think it's a fundamental flaw for any of our players though. We play the game so frantically I think we just forget to slow down and compose themselves before kicking at goal. It will improve.

No mention on

Still think we lack a specialist small forward. Dahlhaus is getting heaps of midfield time (which is good) Dickson is moving around the ground more, Honey is playing some minutes in the midfield and I have extreme doubt on whether either Hunter or Hrovat could play as a small forward.

McLean is the player we need to develop into our Bruest/Elliott type. Need a player we can bank on kicking 2 to 3 goals each and every week.
Agree and I reckon he's perfect for it. Great in the air and has a knack for kicking goals from anywhere inside 50. Versatile enough to spend time in the middle too.

L

Leans back, kicks around corners and has no right foot.

Probably just Hunter or Goodes for mine, sticking your arm out isn't a tackle :eek:
I thought Goodes did enough to deserve another opportunity if we're selecting the best side. Plenty of worse players out there on the weekend.

My thoughts:
OUT: Stevens (inj - keep him in if he's ok but I find it hard to believe he would be), Smith (inj :(), Hunter (omit), Webb (omit), Cordy (was pretty happy with his game to be honest but don't particularly want to see what Sandilands does to him)
IN: Wallis, Jong, Boyd, Biggs, Minson/Campbell

Provided the first three ins are right to go.