Recommitted Joe Daniher 2019 [requested a trade to Sydney - didn't get there]

There wasn't anything to it.
They've met heaps of times.
Read the comments from Bombers fans. They all knew that TH and JD had been meeting.
It wasn't Harley that convinced JD to ask for a trade.
Something happened at Bomberland that triggered it all.

I knew cancelling the Foxtel subscription at Essendon was a bad idea!

Not according to Joe. If you think Tom Harley didn't have anything to do with Joe asking for a trade, I think you've been drinking your own fair share of the kool-aid.

Let's not pretend Joe's groin issues and Justin Crow are unrelated.

c595586b491836bb2135fb603c2f4e5997ce0e2f8e41c30a81af650f568eaff8.jpg

5, 9 and Reid i can live with. Reids no match winner, but hes solid. He'll play his kpp role. Picks 5 and 9 could end up making this deal great. Time will tell.

5 & 9 would be a huge win for the Bombers. I rate Daniher very highly but he's not worth 2 top 10 picks. Two top 10 picks is MASSIVE overs.

5,9 & Reid and the Swans would be the laughing stock of the competition. Harley and whoever else is involved at the Swans should be marched if they go ahead with something as ludicrous as this.

Sydney have never been fair dinkum in this negotiation and the writing was on the wall a few days ago. Repurcussions for Sydney for the amateurish way they have handled this.

It's over.

Joe Daniher’s requested move to Sydney is practically dead in the water as the trade period lurches into its last day.

The Swans and Essendon are so far apart on a Daniher deal it would take an extraordinary change of principle from either team for the trade to go through by Wednesday’s 7.30pm deadline.

The Herald Sun understands Sydney’s No. 5 pick has not been offered to Essendon in any potential deal, despite reports that it has.

The Swans’ best offer is pick No. 9, which they hope to secure for Tom Papley in a swap with Carlton, and its second round pick No. 25.

Essendon’s asking price is believed to be two first-round selections as well as a star such as Luke Parker, or Nick Blakey or Isaac Heeney, which the Swans will not consider.

The Bombers point blank refuse to weaken their playing list by trading 25-year-old Daniher for draft picks.

Essendon chief executive Xavier Campbell, who is understood to have spoken to Daniher since his request for a trade, told the Herald Sun on Tuesday the club was not “prepared to undermine” it’s list management..

“We understand and respect Joe’s position, but we are not prepared to undermine our list management strategy and will not be trading a player and person of Joe’s quality unless we are satisfied the club is not in a worse position,” Campbell said.

“We don’t think that is an unreasonable position for the club take with a contracted player.”

Wednesday will be a watershed day for both the Swans and the Bombers.
The Swans rarely fail to secure a targeted player and presumably have offered Daniher a long-term deal.
But their commitment to the big forward would be seen as a huge embarrassment if they could not work close a deal.
Essendon’s list build following the drugs supplement scandal has been co-ordinated by Campbell and Adrian Dodoro, the general manager of list and recruiting, and has centred around Daniher as the key forward.

He was one of several players who helped entice Dylan Shiel to the club at the end of 2018.
They can’t now allow him to walk away fully fit with a year to run on his contract for a trade that weakens their chances of playing finals football next year.
Dodoro, the long-time Bombers deal maker, will be central to talks and will refuse to yield on Daniher unless the Swans come with a deal one person familiar with the situation called a trade to “knock your socks off’”.

He believes that if they keep a fit Daniher and he produces next year, the club can sway him to sign a long-term contract. He is currently contracted for the 2020 season.

Externally, some media people say Dodoro is a difficult person to deal with.

Internally, Essendon believes Dodoro is an outstanding operator who is acting in the best interests of the club.
If Dodoro bows down to Sydney on Daniher, it would continue to drive the public narrative the Bombers are a mediocre football club who, this time, can’t keep its best player.
Last year, he secured Shiel with an offer of two first-round draft selections to Greater Western Sydney.
He believes a similar deal — with a player — is required for Daniher
“We’ve made it perfectly clear in regards to Joe that our intention is to keep him,” Dodoro said on Monday.

“We’re working really hard to make sure that’s the case.”
“Our position hasn’t changed. We don’t think this draft will replace a guy of Joey’s ilk — 203cm, a gun key forward, they’re just so hard to find.”
Daniher, who has played just 11 games in two injury-hit seasons, is believed to be still overseas.

Sydney have never been fair dinkum in this negotiation and the writing was on the wall a few days ago. Repurcussions for Sydney for the amateurish way they have handled this.

It's over.

It's embarrassing for Sydney that Essendon want the best trade deal ever for a bloke with 1 year left on his contract, who has played 10 games in 2 years?
Yeah Nah.
Only Victorian AFL media nuffies would write such garbage.

It's embarrassing for Sydney that Essendon want the best trade deal ever for a bloke with 1 year left on his contract, who has played 10 games in 2 years?
Yeah Nah.
Only Victorian AFL media nuffies would write such garbage.

You chased Daniher, despite what you say, got him to nominate your club then didn't follow through to get the deal done. You didn't even put up a half decent offer.

You have just put ALL players and Agents on alert that you will not do what it takes to get a player to your club even though you have said you will. You can not be trusted.

Good luck getting decent players to your club, a club that struggles to do so at the best of times and has players wanting to come back home.

psd lol.

He'll find his love again of playing footy and re-sign with Essendon on a long term deal at the end of 2020

One thing we know for sure, there is an endless supply of Kool-aid at Tullamarine.

They must have upped the strength since Joe announced his desire to be traded.

You chased Daniher, despite what you say, got him to nominate your club then didn't follow through to get the deal done.

You have just put ALL players and Agents on alert that you will jot do what it takes to get a player to your club even though you have said you will.

Good luck getting players to your club, a club that struggles to do so at the best of times and has players wanting to come back home.

You keep repeating that same line over and over.
It's all Sydney's fault and Sydney are bad.

Poor Bombers.
Can't even handle someone wanting to leave.
Toys out of the cot.