Recommitted Joe Daniher 2019 [requested a trade to Sydney - didn't get there]

Sydney wanted to offer 9 + a future first for our best player.

Meaning they wanted to select talent before us at 5 in this years draft despite getting our best player and dispense of next year's first because they'll have 2 academy players coming in anyway.

They weren't willing to give up any of their talent. Not even a player like Florent who is down the pecking order of talent compared to the likes of Blakey and Heeney.

They didn't want to give up anything significant for Daniher.

We'd have been left with pick 9 that may as well be a pick in the teens/20s considering this year's draft and a first rounder in one of the most compromised drafts in history.

They weren't serious about getting him and they paid the price for it.

Meaning they wanted to select talent before us at 5 in this years draft despite getting our best player and dispense of next year's first because they'll have 2 academy players coming in anyway.

They weren't willing to give up any of their talent. Not even a player like Florent who is down the pecking order of talent compared to the likes of Blakey and Heeney.

They didn't want to give up anything significant for Daniher.

We'd have been left with pick 9 that may as well be a pick in the teens/20s considering this year's draft and a first rounder in one of the most compromised drafts in history.

They weren't serious about getting him and they paid the price for it.
But I thought they were 'exploring a number of options' but apparently not including their best draft picks or any of their players.

They offered two first rounders as well as a choice of two first 22 players better than Florent. Essendon said no to it all. Why do you guys keep lying about this?

To not put 5 and/or a top young player on the table says Sydney were not fair dinkum.
They didnt even have 5 and 9 on the table.
We didn't put it on the table because you told us you wouldn't accept it before we did.

This is such a bizarre argument, not just from Swans posters but the Swans themselves. If 5+9 was supposedly indicated as not being enough, why would you then proceed to offer a worse deal as your final offer, assuming you were serious about getting the deal done?

The full range of deals isn't and probably won't be known.

After what Tex Walker said today... The guy is so overrated! not sure if it's by the bombers faithful or the wider football public or both, he averages 1.8 goals a game ffs.

To put that into perspective Josh Jenkins averages 2 goals a game.

Is it not possible/plausible that we made the inferior offer, were told even the superior offer wouldn't get the job done because you didn't consider two draft picks to be adequate, you then came up with a list of players, none of whom we were willing or able to trade, rejected the players that we did offer, and so no further offer was ever actually made other than the original one?

After what Tex Walker said today... The guy is so overrated! not sure if it's by the bombers faithful or the wider football public or both, he averages 1.8 goals a game ffs.

To put that into perspective Josh Jenkins averages 2 goals a game.

LOL yeah do you reckon that might be because Joe debuted as a 200 cm 18 year old and Jenkins was like 25. I cannot figure out why anyone would use career averages when its so obviously inappropriate for the comparison. Plus obviously taller players take longer to develop. If Joe wasn't such a freak he wouldn't have played so much footy in his first 3 years when he was still a fair way off reaching his physical maturity.

He had a very steady rate of improvement up until the groin injury (in fact it was perfect, improving total goals and goals per game every successive year):
2013: 5 Games, 3 Goals
2014: 21 Games, 28 Goals
2015: 22 Games, 34 Goals
2016: 22 Games, 43 Goals
2017: 23 Games, 65 Goals

Saying he averages 1.8 goals a game whilst technically true is completely irrelevant to how Joe would be evaluated both by Essendon and by any prospective clubs that are interested in him.

It still should have been put on the table. Or a good young player. Otherwise why stuff around?
Because it was the most we were willing to give for a player with serious long term injury issues? The offer on the table was still almost definitely two top 10 draft picks. How many trades have been made that had more on the table?

If a player is contracted there is no onus on the club to accept any deal they don’t want to. You want a pet a player loose you’re going to have to make it worthwhile to the club to let them otherwise why would they do it? Keeping joe at the club is much more valuable than the draft picks offered as we don’t have any other key forwards any where near as good as him and what Sydney offered wouldn’t have helped us replace him. So we kept him, simple as that. It’s a risk that he might not get back to his best but I think pretty much all Essendon supporters are happy to take that risk. Players have no right to complain about being held to a contract they signed to earn them hundreds of thousands a year, that’s how contracts work.

LOL yeah do you reckon that might be because Joe debuted as a 200 cm 18 year old and Jenkins was like 25. I cannot figure out why anyone would use career averages when its so obviously inappropriate for the comparison. Plus obviously taller players take longer to develop. If Joe wasn't such a freak he wouldn't have played so much footy in his first 3 years when he was still a fair way off reaching his physical maturity.

He had a very steady rate of improvement up until the groin injury (in fact it was perfect, improving total goals and goals per game every successive year):
2013: 5 Games, 3 Goals
2014: 21 Games, 28 Goals
2015: 22 Games, 34 Goals
2016: 22 Games, 43 Goals
2017: 23 Games, 65 Goals

Saying he averages 1.8 goals a game whilst technically true is completely irrelevant to how Joe would be evaluated both by Essendon and by any prospective clubs that are interested in him.
The comparison is not a silly suggestion, sure Daniher is more talented then Jenkins but he hasn't fulfilled it. he is poor set shot kicking you haven't won a final with him why hold him? no way is he worth 2 first round pick with his injury history.

Sydney offered two first-rounders. Essendon rejected that offer, hence he is worth more than 2 first-round picks to Essendon. The bolded (your opinion) is not supported by the events of the trade period.

They're human beings, not assets. Mental health comes first. Even outside of that, I'd rather not have someone at the club that doesn't want to be there.

The only reason I'm not angry with the club for holding him to his contract is the fact that Carlton wanted pick 25 back.
25 year olds sign contracts all the time. I'd like to see a bank let them get out of their mortgages because of "mental health".

Judging by Essendon’s rejection of the offer & Bomber fans reaction we valued Daniher more than the picks offered.

Judging by the disappointment of the majority of Swans fans here and on their board they deep down also know Daniher was more valuable than what was offered.

Otherwise their would be a celebratory thread on there that’s you’ve kept your picks.

200cm tall high marking forwards are rare as hen’s teeth. Look at his performance at Anzac Day after a year out and missing a chunk of pre season.

You build your team around players like this and that’s why Swans fans are lamenting not getting him.

Judging by Essendon’s rejection of the offer & Bomber fans reaction we valued Daniher more than the picks offered.

Judging by the disappointment of the majority of Swans fans here and on their board they deep down also know Daniher was more valuable than what was offered.

Otherwise their would be a celebratory thread on there that’s you’ve kept your picks.

200cm tall high marking forwards are rare as hen’s teeth. Look at his performance at Anzac Day after a year out and missing a chunk of pre season.

You build your team around players like this and that’s why Swans fans are lamenting not getting him.

There are very few people on the Swans board who would have had us offer more than we did for Daniher. So, while it would have been nice to get him and a few are disappointed, we are mainly happy not to have paid too much. Particularly as he is an RFA in 12 months.

I don’t think so. The disappointment is palpable. Rightly so.

Well, what you think doesn't match up to the reality on the Swans board. There is more disappointment about not improving our midfield than there is about not bringing in Joe.
Yeah even as a mutual who likes the swans I was appalled at how much they offered for him. Even one top ten pick was overs, you guys won’t be losing any sleep.

I don’t think so. The disappointment is palpable. Rightly so.

Only because pick 9 and next years first is overs already, Let's be honest.

Most Swans fans on here didn't even want the trade to get done.