Review Player Review vs Western Bulldogs (The Humble Pie Edition)

Yezeha

Feb 10, 2014
Oklahoma City Thunder
Me at halftime:

"Don't blame the umpires. Get used to it. They're gonna be s**t every game.

Blame the complete lack of discipline in that quarter. The back 6 is getting exposed for height but the problem is starting with the complete lack of pressure on the entries. They're being allowed to slam it in deep while we're constantly breaking down once we cross half way.

I see this fizzling out to a bad 4-5 goal loss where we'll try really hard and make a game of it in the second half and then in typical Collingwood under Buckley fashion, get no reward. And then a few are gonna cop a serious roasting in my player review. (Adams, Cox - I've got something special planned for you two)"

Yeah....

Eating some humble pie right now and it tastes pretty freakin good. I'd like to go over the two underlined parts of that half time comment. As for the first one, I think that was a pretty fair comment to make at the time. That first half wasn't exactly a clinic. What I didn't see coming was the comprehensive defensive clinic we put on in the second half. Holding a team goalless in a half of footy is ummm, yeah... (dare I say top 8 quality)

Which brings us to the second underlined bit. I'm apprehensive to fully trust Bucks after the lean period we've been through under him but tonight has proven that at the very least, he's evolving as a coach and the players are right behind him. Good opportunity to segue-way into...

Bucks (8/10)

He comprehensively out-coached Beveridge in the second half - someone he hasn't won against yet mind you. That defensive structure was a sight to behold. I tend to light up Bucks after poor performances so its only fair I shower him with praise after tonight. He loses a couple of points because of the poor start but other than that, it was all bueno. At the very least, we'll be going into the bye with a 50% winning rate; something I'm sure we would've all taken at the start of the year. That second half proved to me that we can and really should play finals footy in 2018. Its up to Bucks and the players to make it happen.

Now we get to the players. Last week, I put up a poll regarding the stupid nicknames I have for the players and unfortunately Nay beat Yay 16 votes to 11. As much as I'd love to continue this stupid little tradition, the people have spoken. Anyhoo:

2. Jordan De Goey (6/10)

A bit of a downer after he played a beauty last week which I was partially expecting but nonetheless, was mildly disappointed by. The Doggies definitely emphasised keeping him in check and they succeeded keeping him to his first goalless game of the year. I liked the move by Bucks to swap him and Adams in the third quarter to get him some touches (more on Adams later) and some of them were quality. He also had a couple of chances to hit the scoreboard late which he unfortunately didn't take.

4. Brodie Grundy (10/10)

DING DING DING....

That's the first 10/10 I've given this year (we got a couple more too) and its well deserved. In this matchup last year, Grundy came up against pretty much the same opposition ruck division and largely disappointed. Tonight however, he completely monstered the s**t out of them. At some point, there was that preposterous stat that came up where hitouts to advantage were like 13-0 from memory? Also, 21 contested possessions? Holy s**t! He gets a 10 because there's literally nothing to complain about. His ruckwork was sublime and around the ground, he was effective as ever.

7. Adam Treloar (10/10)

ANOTHER ONE!

Yeah. 40 touches and 2 sausage rolls. Could have been 3 if we wanna nitpick but lets not...

You're a ******* gun, Ads. Keep it up.

8. Tom Langdon (7/10)

Good solid game. Generally useful on the rebound barring several absolutely heart killing clangers particularly in the first half. He was a key cog in the back 6 that kept them goalless in the second half so he gets some more chocolates. Oh, and he kicked a sausage which brought me a smile to his and my face. Always love it when a defender hits the board.

10. Scott Pendlebury (9/10)

One word. Class. Granted, he had one or two not so great touches in the first half but he maintained his high standard and kicked what was probably the sealer in the last quarter.

12. Matt Scharenberg (10/10)

Mhmm. Yet another one.

26 touches at 100%. Absolutely sound defensively. This man is brilliant and worth his weight in gold.

13. Taylor Adams (6/10)

Automatically lost 5 points because that first half was a stinker to the point where I was pre-emptively roasting him. To his credit, he responded with a much better second half so he gets a point back for that. Some credit also needs to go to Buckley for putting him into a better position to be effective. I don't know about this guy though.

15. Lynden Dunn (8/10)

Probably his best game for the year. Was one of the chief culprits in the 'undisciplined' department in the first half but responded terrifically in the second half. Had a nice amount of the ball going the other way and generally used it well while also keeping his opponent largely out of it.

16. Chris Mayne (7/10)

I thought he was pretty good. Pretty much the sort of game we're probably gonna have to get used to him having. He's proven useful as a link up player but has provided not much apart from work rate. Certainly been a more useful player than a lot give him credit for.

18. Travis Varcoe (8/10)

For the time he was on the ground, I thought he was pretty damn good. He had some terrific moments working front and centre from marking contests and was pretty clean in a dirty first half. In fact, I thought he was one of our best at half time. It genuinely sucks that he's injured again and I reckon its a much bigger loss than many will think.

19. Levi Greenwood (8/10)

I thought he was pretty good in an unfamiliar and unexpected role. Most of us were expecting him to go to Macrae or Bontempelli but I thought he did well and was (controversial take trigger warning) an upgrade on what Murray had been giving us in the weeks prior.

20. Ben Reid (5/10)

Ugly sort of a game but I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt since he's returning from injury. I thought it was a necessary move to throw him back early on due to us getting exposed for height in the backline.

21. Tom Phillips (10/10)

That's the last of them 10/10's.

It's getting to the point where opposition teams will be looking to tag this guy. That's how good he's been this year. His motor and work rate is absolutely unbelievable to the point where I'm willing to live with the odd fumble or miscue. A couple of things that are quite underestimated about him are his marking and finishing ability. Both were on full display at times tonight.

22. Steele Sidebottom (7/10)

Actually had a pretty quiet-ish game by his standards but was effective whenever he got it. His goal was the spark that started the inferno in the second half.

24. Josh Thomas (7/10)

Once again, he played his role and he continues to give something valuable every week. He just has a really unorthodox but highly effective way of getting that pigskin through the big sticks, doesn't he? Not many of his goals this year have been pretty. They always seem to spin awkwardly. Is it just me?

25. Jack Crisp (8/10)

If my memory isn't failing me, that is now 3 straight 30 pieces for Mr. Crisp. He's been more than adequate defensively and a terrific driving force out of our backline. Sometimes, his disposal is a bit iffy, largely because he seems to run himself into trouble, but I'm willing to live with it because the positive stuff seriously outweighs the negatives.

26. Josh Daicos (7/10)

I'm really mad at you guys because I had a nickname for this kid that I'd been wanting to use for a while (made all the more fitting by a recent stadium name change) :(

Anyways, I really liked his game. He coughed it up a little in the first half but its only his 3rd senior game so he can be excused. In the second half, he looked dangerous. We all wanted that kick in the third quarter to go through but unfortunately, it hit the woodwork. That goal after the siren however, was my favourite moment of the night and a fitting reward for a good game.

31. Flynn Appleby (7/10)

I really liked his game tonight. It was solid without being spectacular; the kind of game a certain premiership winning possum specialised in. Apples though, has a much higher ceiling in my opinion because he's a threat going the other way. (I still love you Tooves <3 ) Oh, and its also like his 4th senior game in his first year coming off the rookie list and apart from one not that great game against the Lions, he's slotted seamlessly into that back 6.

32. Will Hoskin-Elliott (8/10)

Pretty much every good WHE game ever. Presents well. Flies high. Runs hard. Kicks 2. I did like that he was our leading tackler on the ground tonight. I reckon he's still got enough talent to burn to go to another level. At the moment, he's just a really good role player and his next step is stardom.

35. Jaidyn Stephenson (6/10)

Equal second fewest touches on the ground tonight which hurts his rating a little but those two dashes down the wing were exhilarating and lead to goals. Also converted his only set shot chance nicely. I'm gonna ahead and do that thing where I suggest he needs a rest because every time I do, he comes back the next week with more humble pie to shove in my face. So yeah.

Stephenson needs a rest.

38. Jeremy Howe (7/10)

A strangely quiet night for him. Only found it 14 times which is a season low (?) and misjudged a few contests in the air. Still, at the very least, he released Scharenberg to be as influential as he was and was sound defensively in the second half.

46. Mason Cox (4/10)

Sigh. Mason Mason Mason...

I honestly don't know where to go from here with him. As much as I want him to succeed, I think his presence really hurts the team more than it helps. For the best part of three quarters, he was a liability before finally clunking a few when the game was pretty much over. For any team that does its homework, he's just way too easy to defend and exploit going the other way. At times this year, he's shown his value like in the first half vs Richmond and the last quarter vs Brisbane, but they've only been glimpses. Not enough to justify keeping Sam McLarty out of the side.

As for changes, the only one that needs to be made out of necessity is Wells in for Varcoe. I desperately want McLarty in for Cox but thats a long shot. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this weeks writeup. I gotta say, I typed out the silly nicknames for the first few players before I remembered #democracy. Also, I will not be writing up a review for the next two weeks because life gets kinda busy for me then so if anyone wants to step up to the plate during my mini hiatus, it'd be appreciated.

10 out of 10's lose their value when you give them out like hotdogs. (Or hot pies...)

But great review! Think you were sport on.

Gee some of the boys really elevated their game to the next level after half time. Treloar, Scharenberg, PHILLIPS!! Wow.

Take a bow lads.

Good review.

Bulldogs best was their white shorts.

Looks great with their jumpers.

8. Tom Langdon (7/10)

Good solid game. Generally useful on the rebound barring several absolutely heart killing clangers particularly in the first half. He was a key cog in the back 6 that kept them goalless in the second half so he gets some more chocolates. Oh, and he kicked a sausage which brought me a smile to his and my face. Always love it when a defender hits the board.

You gave Tommy a 7! Are you completely insane? This is the BF mob coming for you.

giphy.gif

Might seem a bit odd but i thought the three best on ground were:

1. Shaz
2. Crisp
3. Pendles

We won because the defense pulled their finger out in the second half (imo), and Crisp and Shaz were the catalyst for that turn (and to a lesser degree, Dunn).

They are both soooo composed in defense and, not even exaggerating, i dont think they lost a contest in the second half. Shaz went at 100%, Crisp was constantly creating off the half back, super impressed.

If both continue their recent form for the year they should both be top 5 in the Copeland. Turning into fantastic players.

Good review but tough on Reid imo. I thought he played his role very well. After quarter time he pushed up and helped with connection between the forwards and backs . He took 8 marks , kick well and was good in the contest.

I reckon bucks would have been very happy with his game.

Oh mate, first one you’ve posted I sort of disagree with!

Levi Greenwood 8/10? I’m willing to give him time but he looked cooked out there to me. Really struggled with the pace in the first half, gave away a goal via a free kick. Sure he worked his way into it, but 8/10? Looks like a slow liability. I’d be inclined to go attacking with Murray rather than lockdown. Why do you think he’s an upgrade on Murray!? Curious!

Harsh on Reid too. I remember them swinging him back late in quarters which is a great idea because we live conceding goals in red time. That risky pass to DeGoey in the middle of the ground (when JT took advantage) was the most exciting goal of the night!

And lastly, keen to give him time but Daicos butchered the ball I thought. Every kick he had didn’t work. Knew he’d nail the last one though and like Greenwood needs to adjust to the pace. Would have given him a 4/10. But I’m a harsh bastard!

Me at halftime:

"Don't blame the umpires. Get used to it. They're gonna be s**t every game.

Blame the complete lack of discipline in that quarter. The back 6 is getting exposed for height but the problem is starting with the complete lack of pressure on the entries. They're being allowed to slam it in deep while we're constantly breaking down once we cross half way.

I see this fizzling out to a bad 4-5 goal loss where we'll try really hard and make a game of it in the second half and then in typical Collingwood under Buckley fashion, get no reward. And then a few are gonna cop a serious roasting in my player review. (Adams, Cox - I've got something special planned for you two)"

Yeah....

Eating some humble pie right now and it tastes pretty freakin good. I'd like to go over the two underlined parts of that half time comment. As for the first one, I think that was a pretty fair comment to make at the time. That first half wasn't exactly a clinic. What I didn't see coming was the comprehensive defensive clinic we put on in the second half. Holding a team goalless in a half of footy is ummm, yeah... (dare I say top 8 quality)

Which brings us to the second underlined bit. I'm apprehensive to fully trust Bucks after the lean period we've been through under him but tonight has proven that at the very least, he's evolving as a coach and the players are right behind him. Good opportunity to segue-way into...

Bucks (8/10)

He comprehensively out-coached Beveridge in the second half - someone he hasn't won against yet mind you. That defensive structure was a sight to behold. I tend to light up Bucks after poor performances so its only fair I shower him with praise after tonight. He loses a couple of points because of the poor start but other than that, it was all bueno. At the very least, we'll be going into the bye with a 50% winning rate; something I'm sure we would've all taken at the start of the year. That second half proved to me that we can and really should play finals footy in 2018. Its up to Bucks and the players to make it happen.

Now we get to the players. Last week, I put up a poll regarding the stupid nicknames I have for the players and unfortunately Nay beat Yay 16 votes to 11. As much as I'd love to continue this stupid little tradition, the people have spoken. Anyhoo:

2. Jordan De Goey (6/10)

A bit of a downer after he played a beauty last week which I was partially expecting but nonetheless, was mildly disappointed by. The Doggies definitely emphasised keeping him in check and they succeeded keeping him to his first goalless game of the year. I liked the move by Bucks to swap him and Adams in the third quarter to get him some touches (more on Adams later) and some of them were quality. He also had a couple of chances to hit the scoreboard late which he unfortunately didn't take.

4. Brodie Grundy (10/10)

DING DING DING....

That's the first 10/10 I've given this year (we got a couple more too) and its well deserved. In this matchup last year, Grundy came up against pretty much the same opposition ruck division and largely disappointed. Tonight however, he completely monstered the s**t out of them. At some point, there was that preposterous stat that came up where hitouts to advantage were like 13-0 from memory? Also, 21 contested possessions? Holy s**t! He gets a 10 because there's literally nothing to complain about. His ruckwork was sublime and around the ground, he was effective as ever.

7. Adam Treloar (10/10)

ANOTHER ONE!

Yeah. 40 touches and 2 sausage rolls. Could have been 3 if we wanna nitpick but lets not...

You're a ******* gun, Ads. Keep it up.

8. Tom Langdon (7/10)

10. Scott Pendlebury (9/10)

One word. Class. Granted, he had one or two not so great touches in the first half but he maintained his high standard and kicked what was probably the sealer in the last quarter.

12. Matt Scharenberg (10/10)

Mhmm. Yet another one.

26 touches at 100%. Absolutely sound defensively. This man is brilliant and worth his weight in gold.

13. Taylor Adams (6/10)

Automatically lost 5 points because that first half was a stinker to the point where I was pre-emptively roasting him. To his credit, he responded with a much better second half so he gets a point back for that. Some credit also needs to go to Buckley for putting him into a better position to be effective. I don't know about this guy though.

15. Lynden Dunn (8/10)

Probably his best game for the year. Was one of the chief culprits in the 'undisciplined' department in the first half but responded terrifically in the second half. Had a nice amount of the ball going the other way and generally used it well while also keeping his opponent largely out of it.

16. Chris Mayne (7/10)

I thought he was pretty good. Pretty much the sort of game we're probably gonna have to get used to him having. He's proven useful as a link up player but has provided not much apart from work rate. Certainly been a more useful player than a lot give him credit for.

18. Travis Varcoe (8/10)

For the time he was on the ground, I thought he was pretty damn good. He had some terrific moments working front and centre from marking contests and was pretty clean in a dirty first half. In fact, I thought he was one of our best at half time. It genuinely sucks that he's injured again and I reckon its a much bigger loss than many will think.

19. Levi Greenwood (8/10)

I thought he was pretty good in an unfamiliar and unexpected role. Most of us were expecting him to go to Macrae or Bontempelli but I thought he did well and was (controversial take trigger warning) an upgrade on what Murray had been giving us in the weeks prior.

20. Ben Reid (5/10)

Ugly sort of a game but I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt since he's returning from injury. I thought it was a necessary move to throw him back early on due to us getting exposed for height in the backline.

21. Tom Phillips (10/10)

That's the last of them 10/10's.

It's getting to the point where opposition teams will be looking to tag this guy. That's how good he's been this year. His motor and work rate is absolutely unbelievable to the point where I'm willing to live with the odd fumble or miscue. A couple of things that are quite underestimated about him are his marking and finishing ability. Both were on full display at times tonight.

22. Steele Sidebottom (7/10)

Actually had a pretty quiet-ish game by his standards but was effective whenever he got it. His goal was the spark that started the inferno in the second half.

24. Josh Thomas (7/10)

Once again, he played his role and he continues to give something valuable every week. He just has a really unorthodox but highly effective way of getting that pigskin through the big sticks, doesn't he? Not many of his goals this year have been pretty. They always seem to spin awkwardly. Is it just me?

25. Jack Crisp (8/10)

If my memory isn't failing me, that is now 3 straight 30 pieces for Mr. Crisp. He's been more than adequate defensively and a terrific driving force out of our backline. Sometimes, his disposal is a bit iffy, largely because he seems to run himself into trouble, but I'm willing to live with it because the positive stuff seriously outweighs the negatives.

26. Josh Daicos (7/10)

I'm really mad at you guys because I had a nickname for this kid that I'd been wanting to use for a while (made all the more fitting by a recent stadium name change) :(

Anyways, I really liked his game. He coughed it up a little in the first half but its only his 3rd senior game so he can be excused. In the second half, he looked dangerous. We all wanted that kick in the third quarter to go through but unfortunately, it hit the woodwork. That goal after the siren however, was my favourite moment of the night and a fitting reward for a good game.

31. Flynn Appleby (7/10)

I really liked his game tonight. It was solid without being spectacular; the kind of game a certain premiership winning possum specialised in. Apples though, has a much higher ceiling in my opinion because he's a threat going the other way. (I still love you Tooves <3 ) Oh, and its also like his 4th senior game in his first year coming off the rookie list and apart from one not that great game against the Lions, he's slotted seamlessly into that back 6.

32. Will Hoskin-Elliott (8/10)

Pretty much every good WHE game ever. Presents well. Flies high. Runs hard. Kicks 2. I did like that he was our leading tackler on the ground tonight. I reckon he's still got enough talent to burn to go to another level. At the moment, he's just a really good role player and his next step is stardom.

35. Jaidyn Stephenson (6/10)

Equal second fewest touches on the ground tonight which hurts his rating a little but those two dashes down the wing were exhilarating and lead to goals. Also converted his only set shot chance nicely. I'm gonna ahead and do that thing where I suggest he needs a rest because every time I do, he comes back the next week with more humble pie to shove in my face. So yeah.

Stephenson needs a rest.

38. Jeremy Howe (7/10)

A strangely quiet night for him. Only found it 14 times which is a season low (?) and misjudged a few contests in the air. Still, at the very least, he released Scharenberg to be as influential as he was and was sound defensively in the second half.

46. Mason Cox (4/10)

I honestly don't know where to go from here with him. As much as I want him to succeed, I think his presence really hurts the team more than it helps. For the best part of three quarters, he was a liability before finally clunking a few when the game was pretty much over. For any team that does its homework, he's just way too easy to defend and exploit going the other way. At times this year, he's shown his value like in the first half vs Richmond and the last quarter vs Brisbane, but they've only been glimpses. Not enough to justify keeping Sam McLarty out of the side.

As for changes, the only one that needs to be made out of necessity is Wells in for Varcoe. I desperately want McLarty in for Cox but thats a long shot. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this weeks writeup. I gotta say, I typed out the silly nicknames for the first few players before I remembered #democracy. Also, I will not be writing up a review for the next two weeks because life gets kinda busy for me then so if anyone wants to step up to the plate during my mini hiatus, it'd be appreciated.

Good review -- and good for no nicknames! -- but I think I'd measure some of the players a bit lower than you (probably drop everyone by a point). A few points:

I'd be more generous to Cox -- he should have been given about 4 free kicks in the forward 50, which would have been huge.

Grundy was beaten in the first half I reckon. So an 8/10 for me (since he dominated from then on).

Daicos looked off the pace of the game for me. But that's fine. It's his 3rd game.

I'm yet to be sold on Appleby. He's solid, but I'm not sure he's much else. Like Mayne, I'd say, he plays until we get players back from injury.

Stephenson needs a rest, but I don't think he'll get one given our injuries. Can we make it through ONE game without an injury? Probably not. Gah.

I profoundly disagree about Cox. He is forcing teams to distort their preferred defence structures to cope with his height, and if the umpires ever stop seeing his height as an unfair advantage and pay the shepherding, pushing and chopping frees that everyone else on the ground gets he will start to dominate the forward line.
As it is, the crowd he attracts gives the other forwards every chance to lead away from him or crumb at his feet, as too many defenders have to fly with him. He is influencing every contest he is near because the defenders are so conscious of him, and they have to be because he is a really good overhead mark.
His limitations, and every player has limitations, have to be balanced against this huge influence that he has.
Treloar's selfishness in front of goal precludes 10/10 to me.
Grundy was dynamic, and is our crucial player.
Phillips should have his detractors pretty quietened by now, but they will surface again if he ever has a quiet one.
Langdon likewise.
De Goey and Stephenson won't dominate every week, but they will contribute as they did last night.
Mayne will never get credit for his good work, but he is playing well.
Adams' spot must be in danger, particularly with Sier showing so much in the seconds. He really needs to understand that he is not the second coming of Sam Mitchell.
Daicos has a way to go, but he is carrying enormous baggage into every game until he can establish his own credentials.
Greenwood had a very good first game back.
Scharenberg has been a revelation to me in recent weeks. I was in the camp that saw him as an over investment, and only an average player.. He is a future back line controller.
I was not happy with either Wells or Murray being rested, but we got away with them. Both are essential.
Pendlebury had a night of off disposal, but still played very well. We expect so much of him.
Reid was OK on his return.
Varcoe is a terrible loss. His work at Cox's feet is terrific, as is his pacy attack on the loose ball or on the player who might let the ball loose.
Howe was good.
Appleby continues to amaze. Straight off the rookie list and so effective. I had no expectation that he would even get a game this year, let alone that he would get in and look like holding his place. Maynard will have to earn his spot back. The chances the team took with small defenders, of which we seemed to have few, this year have paid off.
In general, our very inexperienced players have shown their worth so far. If we manage to feature in finals, I wonder if Buckley will stick with them or revert to experienced heads in September. The same choices had to made in 2010, but I am getting ahead of myself with this speculation.

I’m disappointed with some of the vitriol towards Reid on the game day thread. A Collingwood warrior who’s given us everything. Coming off an injury too. He was fine and nice loose in defence. Handy utility.

I’ve alwaus liked Langdon too. So he has the occasional mega-clanger. It’s because he’s willing to back himself / take the game on. You can’t criticise the “Buckley robot” theorem and then get shitty when a player gets caught out showing some flair. Keep it up Langdon!!

thought cox was okay, did get a rough trot from umpires.

also like daicos, yes his kicks didn'tt quite come off but he is very balanced and has penetration in his kicking. accuracy and decision making will come once he adjusts. I think he is more likely to succeed than brown imo)

Adams first half was honestly the worst first half I've ever seen. He picked back up in the second half. People were calling for him to be dropped last week, which I was opposed to. With this week, and last, I would say he has to get dropped for Sier.

There was a point in the game, possible in the first half, where he ignored pendlebury and went for a kick that was turned over heading towards the forward 50. That is really unacceptable. Dropped to the seconds please.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

46. Mason Cox (4/10)

I honestly don't know where to go from here with him. As much as I want him to succeed, I think his presence really hurts the team more than it helps. For the best part of three quarters, he was a liability before finally clunking a few when the game was pretty much over. For any team that does its homework, he's just way too easy to defend and exploit going the other way. At times this year, he's shown his value like in the first half vs Richmond and the last quarter vs Brisbane, but they've only been glimpses. Not enough to justify keeping Sam McLarty out of the side..

Agree. 1st 3 Qtrs was Pretty much a Liability and did stuff all.

McLarty got Injured today so I say he is safe until at least after the Bye

I’m disappointed with some of the vitriol towards Reid on the game day thread. A Collingwood warrior who’s given us everything. Coming off an injury too. He was fine and nice loose in defence. Handy utility.

I’ve alwaus liked Langdon too. So he has the occasional mega-clanger. It’s because he’s willing to back himself / take the game on. You can’t criticise the “Buckley robot” theorem and then get shitty when a player gets caught out showing some flair. Keep it up Langdon!!
I agree, whilst he didn't get the chocolates up forward I though he provided a target and competed whilst and then was able to go back and sure our defence.

Nice review but were we watching the same game?

So generous for some players and so harsh for others. How Greenwood gets 8/10 is beyond me. Cox was poor but not that bad. He is always going to because of his height making him a liability. But his contributions (breaking packs, bringing the ball to ground etc) are so useful. Taylor Adams didn’t deserve 6, probably or worst player on the day. Langdon 6?

Way too many 10s as well. We beat a bottom 6 team by like 30 points!

thought cox was okay, did get a rough trot from umpires.

also like daicos, yes his kicks didn'tt quite come off but he is very balanced and has penetration in his kicking. accuracy and decision making will come once he adjusts. I think he is more likely to succeed than brown imo)
Completely a gree on the last bit.
Browns a 50/50 to succeed. Small and lacks penetration

Nice review but were we watching the same game?

So generous for some players and so harsh for others. How Greenwood gets 8/10 is beyond me. Cox was poor but not that bad. He is always going to because of his height making him a liability. But his contributions (breaking packs, bringing the ball to ground etc) are so useful. Taylor Adams didn’t deserve 6, probably or worst player on the day. Langdon 6?

Way too many 10s as well. We beat a bottom 6 team by like 30 points!

More balance than I normally expect from a tyrosine kinase inhibitor.