• Brodie Smith

• Elliott Himmelberg

• Patrick Parnell

• Lachlan Sholl

• Tom Doedee

• Reilly O'Brien

Results are only viewable after voting.

Bad - dropping butts. Like yeah, he's needed a rocket up his arse for a year (maybe 2). But come on. At least have a plan b if you're actually gonna drop him

Ugly - everything else except

Abysmal - our coaching at marking contests. Since AT LEAST the Don pyke days we've always had our smalls prepare for the crumb expecting our keys to either mark or bring it to ground. Well, with only 1 key defender (Murray who is about 1 of 2 players I've been happy with - the other being scholl) we're being smashed at the contests and our smalls are superfluous to the contest. Gave up at least 3 1st quarter goal by just standing there relying on a kpd to bring it to ground. Problem being, we didn't select a 2nd kpd..... (

We were never a chance after playing in the heat in Western Sydney and coming off a shorter turnaround than Richmond. I didn't think we would capitulate like this though.

Sack Nicks
That's what I'm thinking

A fan behind me (obvious one of those overly positive types) said let's see what nicks can do at half time and I (was team nicks till about 30 minutes ago) said in more interested in setting what Scott burns can do

It's worth noting Richmond have been outstanding and Melbourne would have been the only team capable to have kept up with this performance.

Still, it's the kind of heat you learn a lot about players, and I think the most pleasant surprise of that half has been Lachie Sholl. Handling it rather well, considering how much he's struggled with high pressure in the past. Pedlar had some nice moments, likewise Rachele.

On the other side of the coin, Schoenberg looked awful. That kid has fallen off and then some. Hopefully Berry doesn't follow the same fate, but he's also struggled to a lesser degree.

Another game where we played about 45 minutes of intense footy and but also 60 minutes of absolute rubbish, ultimately our opponent's midfield and basic composure being the difference during their good patch.

Goal kicking is a skill, and apart from a few players we don't have much skill.

Eerily similar to our first AO game last year v Freo. Our games are still haphazard/headless chook style where we can't put it all together. I still don't see a coherent system - "lift work rate and we get the results" isn't a system.

Ultimately we aren't serious about what we're doing as a football club. We're finding out in real time what the difference between blue chip top draft midfielders are, and second/third round small midfielders/offcut midfielders are.

It's just the same old crap from the last two years, the script would get a C- on AVClub at this point.

Another game where we played about 45 minutes of intense footy and but also 60 minutes of absolute rubbish, ultimately our opponent's midfield and basic composure being the difference during their good patch.

Goal kicking is a skill, and apart from a few players we don't have much skill.

Eerily similar to our first AO game last year v Freo. Our games are still haphazard/headless chook style where we can't put it all together. I still don't see a coherent system - "lift work rate and we get the results" isn't a system.

Ultimately we aren't serious about what we're doing as a football club. We're finding out in real time what the difference between blue chip top draft midfielders are, and second/third round small midfielders/offcut midfielders are.
Spending a first round draft pick on a small forward with such a poor midfield.

Rachele is a genuine goal kicking mid.

Rankine is not.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Good

• Michalanney – Will be a 200 game player. Composed, skillful – un-Crows like.
  • Hinge
  • Rachele - Will be elite. Will he stay?
  • Fog
  • Soligo

The Ugly

• Parnell getting his head drilled into the turf.
  • The lack of reaction from senior Crows player when Parnell gets drilled.
  • Keays – Just horrible.
  • Not sure a club in such a deep rebuild can afford to give up much needed top 10 draft picks for non-midfielders or kpps.
  • Midfield – gone backwards. Bottom 3 standard.
  • Riccuito – How dare he profit from the mess he has created.
  • Schoenberg – D grader.
  • Laird – did someone say he is an elite midfielder.
  • Himmelberg – Bring back Billy.
  • If we were a strong club Keays, Schoenberg and Himmelberg would not play another AFL game.
  • Crow supporters who will say we were brave.
  • List mgmt/recruiting - Riccuito, Reid and Ogilvie - the axis of evil.
  • Shai Bolton - is there a player who loves himself more?

We've burned through quite a few of our excuse cards already.

Round one
Too hot
Six day break

What's next?

We only had 3 good midfielders out there again, 2 of which were also our best midfielders last week.

Those are:

Rachele - Close to our best player at this point
Soligo - Ran hard, tried, didn't always come off but contributed
Sholl - Gets absolutely destroyed on here but he was more than serviceable and is not soft

The others

Schoenberg - Diabolical. Bust. Delist.
Berry - Another shocker
Laird - Heaps of touches but heaps of errors
Sloane - Can't run, is cooked

Keays and Pedlar had some moments but mostly played forward. Dawson very good when he moved further up the ground.

You will not win games when your best midfielders are second year players and everyone else is putting in shithouse efforts

Ugly

• not only our first half, our first half at home for the year
  • Good kicking
  • turnovers

Bad
  • had not learnt anything from last weeks 2nd half
  • senior players like Keays, Sloane and Laird who just can’t kick the footy

We only had 3 good midfielders out there again, 2 of which were also our best midfielders last week.

Those are:

Rachele - Close to our best player at this point
Soligo - Ran hard, tried, didn't always come off but contributed
Sholl - Gets absolutely destroyed on here but he was more than serviceable and is not soft

The others

Schoenberg - Diabolical. Bust. Delist.
Berry - Another shocker
Laird - Heaps of touches but heaps of errors
Sloane - Can't run, is cooked

Keays and Pedlar had some moments but mostly played forward. Dawson very good when he moved further up the ground.

You will not win games when your best midfielders are second year players and everyone else is putting in shithouse efforts
Sholl was great today