Autopsy Umpiring šŸ˜³ (autopsy vs Lions)

Rupert Murdoch does not ring every editor every day and tell them what "the line" is.

He just employs people who know instinctively what the line is because it is usually pretty obvious.

Same with umpires, I mean Leigh/Sam Fisher would be probably be hanging round the Mentone RSL scabbing beers off people and eating the chips left on plates before they get cleared up if the AFL had taken him in.

He knows EXACTLY what his employers want in a game.
Hahaha

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Although it was a difficult night to swallow, the good news is we still have players to experiment, still have Daw yet to return etc.

What we need to do is reflect and elaborate on why we panic so easily, and why we have no legs late in games. I'm willing to accept we are cooked because we just look like on life support with 2 mins left. This should be taken care of over the pre-season.

We saw glimpses of this as well in that Tigers game where they got some late goals. But Collingwood was straight up s**t so that doesn't apply.

The two trips to Tasmania of recent haven't done us much favours. Is it necessary? Why not just play at Marvel and have more time for conditioning? Combining all the trips there and back, it's potentially going to have a considerable effect on the playing group recovering.

Marvel suits our style more, allows us to read the play better with less factors to consider. (Wind, rain etc) It also makes hardness more painful on dry turf and we get to see our team play more. Also pump some games at the MCG as well. We rarely play there.

I'm all for Tassie if it means we win there most of the time, but we have only won there once this year so far.

We were reamed by the umpires. But I can't subscribe to the theory that it's a conspiracy or some kind of AFL profit maximisation or game growing hidden agenda at play.
It's just good old fashioned garden variety weakness and incompetence.
The issue that nobody seems to want to discuss with AFL umpiring is the physical demands of the job. Because of the necessity to be able to run 20ks a game we simply don't have the best decision makers umpiring the game. We have the best endurance runners.
If you look at the referees and umpires of every other major sport on the planet they are usually older, more mature, sometimes even portly individuals who have vast experience and know how to gain the respect of players. There's a very good reason test cricket isn't umpired by 30 somethings who weren't quite good enough to make the grade as players.
But AFL is different. We have to have runners. And this counts out the most experienced or best decision makers.
We get the weedy insecure nuffies and loners who nobody really liked at school. And they cop so much abuse that they end up just being desperate for affirmation and attention. If you think home crowds and crowd noise don't influence AFL umpiring then you really haven't been paying attention.
If the AFL seriously wants to improve umpiring standards they need to stop worrying about having their secret police weed out abuse in the crowd and change the whole culture of the job. Have 6 field umpires each patrolling their own zone if that's what it takes. Just reduce the physical demands of the job.
We can all make correct decisions sitting on the couch in front of the tele. But try running 20ks, and then making that split second decision with 30 thousand people screaming at you and bogans threatening to meet you in the carpark after the game. Of course they are going to make bad decisions. And they'll cost clubs games.
So what is the explanation for every baffling and bewildering decision only impacting one team on the field.

Have a look at the history of poor umpiring performances and their is usually a common theme, one team and only that team copping all the bad decisions.

So if we are to argue that these guys are just incompetent or no good, then why do we not see a whole quarter of absolute howlers impact both sides?

People have their head in the sand.

I refuse to believe that 3 different individuals can be so poor in their decision making, but only to the detriment of one team.

If they were truly poor, both sides would be subject to crap decision making.

If Gerard Whately is tweeting that we should receive an apology for how we were umpired for the whole night, you know you have been on the end of a deliberate reaming.

We were reamed by the umpires. But I can't subscribe to the theory that it's a conspiracy or some kind of AFL profit maximisation or game growing hidden agenda at play.
It's just good old fashioned garden variety weakness and incompetence.
The issue that nobody seems to want to discuss with AFL umpiring is the physical demands of the job. Because of the necessity to be able to run 20ks a game we simply don't have the best decision makers umpiring the game. We have the best endurance runners.
If you look at the referees and umpires of every other major sport on the planet they are usually older, more mature, sometimes even portly individuals who have vast experience and know how to gain the respect of players. There's a very good reason test cricket isn't umpired by 30 somethings who weren't quite good enough to make the grade as players.
But AFL is different. We have to have runners. And this counts out the most experienced or best decision makers.
We get the weedy insecure nuffies and loners who nobody really liked at school. And they cop so much abuse that they end up just being desperate for affirmation and attention. If you think home crowds and crowd noise don't influence AFL umpiring then you really haven't been paying attention.
If the AFL seriously wants to improve umpiring standards they need to stop worrying about having their secret police weed out abuse in the crowd and change the whole culture of the job. Have 6 field umpires each patrolling their own zone if that's what it takes. Just reduce the physical demands of the job.
We can all make correct decisions sitting on the couch in front of the tele. But try running 20ks, and then making that split second decision with 30 thousand people screaming at you and bogans threatening to meet you in the carpark after the game. Of course they are going to make bad decisions. And they'll cost clubs games.
You know the solution to this, have the central umpires change after every centre bounce.
Substitution like the players.

If you honestly think this sport is squeaky clean then you are naive.

The AFL is about profit maximisation. With Gold Coast being a s**tshow, having Brisbane in the top 4 is what QLD footy needs.

Iā€™ve seen poor umpiring before, but the 3rd quarter was outright bizarre and inexplicable. Iā€™m not sure in a random sport how the inexplicable seems to be in constant favour of one side?
The AFL is pumping that much money into the QLD teams it is begging for some kind of return on investment.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Hah, one of the Brisbane Spitpinchumpirelions supporters got cut because I joked about Syria being better than Queensland.
To be fair, that person was of Syrian heritage and rightly took exception to their country being compared to Queensland.

The AFL is pumping that much money into the QLD teams it is begging for some kind of return on investment.

The AFL knows that a strong Brisbane side is what the market needs now.

The last thing they want is Brisbane losing home games at the Gabba to lowly North Melbourne.

Got to keep the punters happy, so they keep rocking up each week.

Anyone that thinks Collingwood would have been in the recieving end of that last half shitshow is naive to the agenda of this current Adminstration.

North is a soft target.

Just watched the replay of Goldsteins kick straight to Rich.
He was under minimal pressure. :frowning::tired::straining:
It was shitful, needed to be 15m longer. Also Turner's turnover at half forward. The ball actually hit his shin. Cost us a goal. Not good enough.

Coaches votes

10 Jarryd Lyons (BL)
5 Luke Hodge (BL)
4 Shaun Higgins (NMFC)
4 Daniel Rich (BL)
3 Robbie Tarrant (NMFC)
2 Darcy Gardiner (BL)
1 Dayne Zorko (BL)
1 Allen Christensen (BL)

Coaches votes

10 Jarryd Lyons (BL)
5 Luke Hodge (BL)
4 Shaun Higgins (NMFC)
4 Daniel Rich (BL)
3 Robbie Tarrant (NMFC)
2 Darcy Gardiner (BL)
1 Dayne Zorko (BL)
1 Allen Christensen (BL)

Lyons with the '10 Coaches Votes' multiplyer in the Kerridge.

Under Scott, second quarters were often the problem for some reason.
Last couple of weeks, our third quarters were clearly our worst in games that could have been won. Could be a coincidence, but it may be something we have to look at, in terms of what the half time routine is.
In the North Melbourne rooms, or the umpire's rooms?

One highlight was Daniel Rich taking the yellow jersey as Worst 200 Game Player Ever.
Was he just done for the pinches, or did they do him for spitting and diving as well?

Regardless, he will be called out by Lingus, Darcy, Derwayne, BT and every other commentator every time the ball comes near him from now on so his reputation is shot. Spitter, Pincher, Diver. SPD.

And here is a pic of the Brisbane Lions members stand from Saturday night:

View attachment 713438
Are they all wearing either yelloww bears jumpers or maroons rugby tops?? Looks like a few wearing blue as well so the odd north supporter got snuk in.

With that crowd things must be roaring in Syria, sorry, Queensland.

Commiserations on being reamed by the umpires.

Here are the midfield frequency stats from the game. If you haven't seen a previous post, this is an overall summary of how often your players were lining up as one of the 5 mids.

Overall Summary - 27 Bounces

Polec 26 wing
Dumont 25 wing
Simpkin 21 (1w)
Cunnington 21
Higgins 15 (2w)
Anderson 14
Ziebell 8
Thomas 4
Turner 1

Rucks:
Goldstein 25
Larkey 2

Centre Clearances (as per Champion Data/AFL.com.au
Cunnington 4
Higgins 3
Simpkin 2
Dumont 2
Goldstein 1

First Half - 14

Polec 14 wing
Dumont 13 wing
Simpkin 12
Cunnington 12
Anderson 8
Ziebell 7
Higgins 4 (3i, 1w)

Goldstein 13
Larkey 1

Final Term - 9

Polec 9 wing
Dumont 9 wing
Higgins 9
Cunnington 6
Simpkin 5
Anderson 4
Thomas 2
Ziebell 1

Goldstein 9

Notes (pertains to the 10 analysed games this season and from previous seasons)
- Fewest starts for Ziebell since Rd 5
- Turner's first start since Rd 19, 2018 and first inside start since Rd 5, 2018 - the start came about as a result of 6-6-6 warning as you only had 2 inside mids attending the bounce