Preview Round 19, 2019: Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions, 27 July 2019, 1.45pm @ York Park

I'm sick of being the Nash defender in every thread, so this is all I can say - the coaching group know better than us. They've picked him every time he's been fit enough. That should be enough.

Also important to note, he has played 9 games for 5 wins. Of those losses were:

West Coast - Should have won but kicked ourselves out
Bulldogs - Shiels and Burgoyne go down, we lose due to lack of rotations
Saints - Stratton and Frawley go down, we lose due to lack of rotations
Geelong - We play them without the 4 players that went out above

There's a pretty strong correlation with Nash being in the side and us playing better football, but what would the coaches know?

Carl I pretty much stated that he wasn’t the main reason (saviour) but just that fact ms are facts and he has played in almost all of our wins. As sad as it is the fact Nash has played in most of our wins shows how much Roughie is cooked cause he’s probably played in most of our losses.

Anyways hopefully the addition of Patton and maybe Day too will give us some different options up front in 2020.

Then we’re in wild agreement which is nice.

What has Ross done wrong in VFL? Assuming it is something?
Nothing but he's a different type of player to Nash.
Physically he's not ready, he's had two injuries in the VFL this year, both came at bad times as he was looking close to a debut on form, whether he would have been picked we will never know.

Yes, I agree. I reckon the forward line is pretty dynamic and he adds to that. I don’t think “dynamic compliment” is enough to make a spot secure but it’s enough to see how he goes for quite a few more games yet. I don’t think I’ll start to get impatient until he hits 50 and seems to be offering the same output.
The way Clarko talks about him he sees something and he's doing his best to bring it out.

He thinks Nash can add something dangerous to our forward line.
He built the forward line around Rioli, Poppy and Breusts pressure and smarts during our three peat

Hale and Rough were the structural players that made that work. Buddy was a wild card but without him Gunston was a good mismatch foil.

Nash could be his next mismatch project

He's trying to work out the next forward line combo and he clearly wants Nash to be part of it so he's being given that opportunity.

Then we’re in wild agreement which is nice.

FWIW there was a stretch last year where Miles played in a s**t load of wins and not many losses and I think Schoey the same so these things could be coincidence. Still for whatever reason when Nash has played we have just clicked better. I actually think the reason is his unrewarded running he does which makes his matchup accountable and not allowed to just sit back and play third man up. With Roughie in the team who is clearly cooked and has lost his pace and agility his man would either easily kill the ball or take an uncontested mark. I found that really hard to see this season with Roughie and felt really bad for him. He’s looked like a punch drunk boxer who’s gone a couple of fights too many but he’s had an awesome career and really hope he gets a farewell game 😪

Nothing but he's a different type of player to Nash.
Physically he's not ready, he's had two injuries in the VFL this year, both came at bad times as he was looking close to a debut on form, whether he would have been picked we will never know.

The way Clarko talks about him he sees something and he's doing his best to bring it out.

He thinks Nash can add something dangerous to our forward line.
He built the forward line around Rioli, Poppy and Breusts pressure and smarts during our three peat

Hale and Rough were the structural players that made that work. Buddy was a wild card but without him Gunston was a good mismatch foil.

Nash could be his next mismatch project

He's trying to work out the next forward line combo and he clearly wants Nash to be part of it so he's being given that opportunity.
Nash will be our next centre half back imo. He's doing the usual clarko apprenticeship of playing at the opposite end of the ground as a defensive forward but the signs are plain as day to see. His kicking needs a lot of improvement and as things stand would hurt us if part of a back six but the lad is a hard worker and learns fast.
Nash has great closing speed, a solid spoil, keeps his feet, almost always finds a body after disposing the footy and has plenty of josh hunt in him. He'll be able to play on smalls when required (a la stratts) and will keep forwards honest with his running ability.
It says a lot about his talent that he is currently contributing well in just about the hardest position on the ground to play.

Nash will be our next centre half back imo. He's doing the usual clarko apprenticeship of playing at the opposite end of the ground as a defensive forward but the signs are plain as day to see. His kicking needs a lot of improvement and as things stand would hurt us if part of a back six but the lad is a hard worker and learns fast.
Nash has great closing speed, a solid spoil, keeps his feet, almost always finds a body after disposing the footy and has plenty of josh hunt in him. He'll be able to play on smalls when required (a la stratts) and will keep forwards honest with his running ability.
It says a lot about his talent that he is currently contributing well in just about the hardest position on the ground to play.
This. I want nash to be our next FB.

Agree with the general theme, but he's not strong enough build for the spine, and too fast to waste there anyway. HBF or wing! Will be shocked if he is in the forwards in 2021 (but won't be shocked if he is sent back to BH for 8 games in 2020 to prepare for change in role)

I reckon he can be our Blicavs.

It is obvious his papers were stamped, around the middle of last year. He was playing good football at the time and then was dropped, not sure why they didn’t delist him at years end. Something has gone amiss.
Will end up at another club and have an impact with them.
I agree- think he would be a great pickup for another club. Clearly Clarko prioritises having a strong defensive game but I think in this case Teia has a lot to offer.. seems a shame he may never get another opportunity..

Miles is a good afl footballer, Clarko hasn’t been fair at all to him
He can't be that great mate. He was had the opportunity to find a new home last year, and had no takers.

We'll lose by 30+ this week. Nothing surer. Nash had the grand total of 5 touches in an entire game of AFL football, so spare me the bs structure spiel. It's not acceptable regardless of your ability to spin a cute narrative about him nullifying an oppo forward.

Poppy is cooked. This isn't the Whyalla seconds, this is the HFC. We don't tolerate mediocrity. 2 goals in 10 matches isn't enough. Not happy with Hardwick's form either. Scully needs to improve his defensive game. I'll be watching this game with bated breath.

We'll lose by 30+ this week. Nothing surer. Nash had the grand total of 5 touches in an entire game of AFL football, so spare me the bs structure spiel. It's not acceptable regardless of your ability to spin a cute narrative about him nullifying an oppo forward.

Poppy is cooked. This isn't the Whyalla seconds, this is the HFC. We don't tolerate mediocrity. 2 goals in 10 matches isn't enough. Not happy with Hardwick's form either. Scully needs to improve his defensive game. I'll be watching this game with bated breath.

nice positive opener from "tropo"

I'm glad you guys think it's funny... but I won't be laughing when Hipwood kicks 5. Chip's had a great year but he's too slow, it's time we look to the future.

After we win by 30+ I hope you crawl back into whatever hole you came out of.

I suspect Tropo's post is designed to provoke a specific response

New account, old hat...
There's nothing quite like putting a beacon on your head if you want attention.

So, awesome news that I get to watch the Tasmanian specialist ‘SUPER Birchall’ one more time on Saturday. Incredible recovery from a ‘possible’ season ending groin injury!

Hopefully we will get to hear the truth tige spoke about last week if in fact Super does play on Saturday? I’m intrigued at the game day quote from him last Sunday of “I have doubts he’ll be back next week.. for fear of copping a barrage from Roger Rogerson I will refrain from telling the truth about Birch.”

Watched the game twice now, still think Nash did s**t all. And so does Poppy, should of traded Poppy last season.

You ever played footy and been asked to play a specific role mate? I love posters who crap on players when the have no idea what his role is. Clearly the coaching team think he is doing his job, don’t you think?

The real question is "How does Harry Taylor get a game." Could only manage 6 kicks on Conr Nash and smashed every other forward we've ever played on him. O wait a minute! Hey! That could be the reason Nash is getting a game to STOP their attacking defender. Maybe that's it!

Beat me to it grumble. Harder to tell when watching on TV, but Harry Taylor had the least impact he has ever had against us last Sunday. Whatever we put in play to lessen his normal influence worked a treat. If that was due to Nash playing a defensive role, then good job Conor.

With Harris Andrews out this week, does he get a job on Hodgey?

Nash went back to the magoos for about 4 of those weeks. So well TOB was playing back so it was basically Rough and Gunston Cegs/McEvoy... and Sicily when Clarko through him forward late after the game was gone.

BTW Pup was probably our only tall forward during that period so had no time to rove... as neither of the first 4 mentioned could jump to a contest they had to stand in front of it so he was too busy contesting with the oppositions best KPB. While Gunston limped, Rough got the job for Lewis to rest and Cegs/McEvoy were putrid for a period up forward yet took quite a lot of marks on the wing area.

BTW Pup's goals have been spiralling downwards since 2016 it's hardly a new thing. He's role this year has been to impersonate a tall forward as until recently we had no one and at 5'7" he probably overachieved.
Are you talking about Pup (Sheils) or Punky (Bruest)?