Autopsy Geelong loses to Dons by 34 points at MCG.

We just don't match up well against small fast teams especially on the bigger grounds like the G. No chance against a team like Richmond there.

How Merrett was not tagged, just absolutely staggers me.

Quite a few played stinkers today.

Not trying to single out a player, but Ablett actually looks slow to me, and I don't think he's that effective as a forward. He's not that good in the air with his bung shoulders.

Hawkins was the not the problem today.

Correct.

I hate to say it, but it's normally those with little idea of the game who blame the goal kickers in situations like these. Hawkins is a very important player every week, for a variety of reasons. He tool marks late primarily because the Bombers eased up a little and we got space / time to utilise our structure, something they didn't let us do all game.

s**t result - that's obvious

But this is predominately the same team that has comfortable wins over GWS & Collingwood over the last couple of weeks - so clearly we aren't a s**t team, as even the best teams have off days.

We need the MC to have a look at the structures that have worked over the past 5/6 weeks and ask if the changes this week were not in our favour.

- a second tall forward is needed, and that is who also needs to provide ruck relief. If Ratugolea is going to be rested then we probably do need to bring in Stanley or Buzza, as our back up ruck situation wasn't well managed today.

- do we have the right setup in defence when the introduction of Taylor was at the expense of Zuthrie? What is the impact of another tall having on the roles that Blicavs & Stewart in particular were playing? Do we need to review our defensive unit and revert to what was working with playing one less real defender?

structures are continually wrong it's embarrassing

every week it is something new

play 3 of blicavs, taylor, henry, kolo

play 2 rucks and leave blicavs in the back line

doesnt matter if smith, stanley and buzza are all average footballers you stick with structures to keep things predictable

The thing that killed us today, was that our midfield - who have been dominating - for flogged. Kelly was horrible. Duncan battled away but was quiet. Ablett was non existent. Selwood was mugged and beaten up all day with no support. Danger tried to do what he does but I’m certain is still sore/injured. Menegola went missing again.

So when your midfield get flogged and don’t work as hard (that means gut run to make the zone stifling and effective) it exposes your bottom 6. So when you have a day like today, we all sit here going

“GREGSON AND PARSONS AND SMITH AND THURLOW AND MURDOCH ARE s**t TRUCKS”

And they are. But every team has a bottom 6. They’re only exposed when their next tier up stink. And today ours did. Yes Gregson should go for Jones. And Smith should go for Stanley. And Parsons should go for Ratagolea. And murdoch should absolutely make way for parfitt. And GHS must go for Cockatoo. But the real issue isn’t that bottom 6. It’s the lazy footy that the midfield played.

For those wanting to be critical of our forwards over the first 3 quarters of the match, this was one of the telling stats at 3/4 time:
Time in possession:
Essendon - 51%
Geelong - 33%
In dispute - 16%

With just 33% of possession over the first 3 quarters, what serious opportunities did we actually give our forwards? Considering we couldn't get our hands on the ball, there really wasn't too much that our forwards could actually do, especially as delivery into the forward 50 was often rushed & s**t - rarely to the advantage of our forwards, either over their heads or directly to Essendon players.

Even when we had players on their own, in open space the kick was that poor that it let Essendon into the play - think of the kick to Danger in the first quarter where he probably could have received a free kick for being tripped, it should never have got to that stage if it was a better kick to him in the first place

A bad loss is a bad loss and I could walk away from that but to do it in the same manner as always it gives very little hope we are going to match Richmond when what the bombers did to us is their exact blueprint.

I really do not think its a compatible situation. In truth to match Rich's powerful game style unity ..we need our best side fit and playing well. We have been hiding our deficiencies ..but like someone who needs prescription spectacles knows.. having glasses doesn't mean you have 20/20. It means you have found a way to cope with your deficiency. We are what... 4-6 players from our best side?

Worst I have seen us play live for decades.

Kolo and Stewart were good, Selwood and Duncan worked hard all game.

Coaching was bizarre, at one stage we had Ablett, Danger, Hawkins, Kelly all sitting well forward of the ball.

Danger and Ablett forward most of the game when the ball wasn't getting there. Risking Dangerfield in the ruck.

Arrogant coaching, we took them lightly they got a bit of the ball got their tails up and we still messed around with weird set ups instead of putting our best midfielders in the middle where they play the best.

Guys guys guys - stop getting angry its all a myth - we have the best win/loss record in the comp over the past 7 years and Scott already won a premiership. We perform just as well in finals and the MCG as Skilled.

Parsons is going to be the next big thing - just ask Vdubs. He does things you don't see OK and the club loves him hence giving him a huge contract. We should all shutup the club knows best.

Our small forwards are great and have been for years always applying pressure and kicking bags.

Our tactics at the MCG under pressure of finals is perfect - never falls to pieces either. Just look at the past 7 years how well we perform in high pressure games - our strategy is great and all our players stand up.

This is a random occurance its not like we lost to a s**t Essendon last year did we.

Scott knows what he is doing, his zone works great at the MCG.

Rucks don't matter either, thats why we have managed to find the biggest spuds possible and put them on our list since Ottens left. Dangerfield in the ruck was a genius move just like Duncan against Collingwood and no ruck against Blicavs.

Correct.

I hate to say it, but it's normally those with little idea of the game who blame the goal kickers in situations like these. Hawkins is a very important player every week, for a variety of reasons. He tool marks late primarily because the Bombers eased up a little and we got space / time to utilise our structure, something they didn't let us do all game.

The game has never been more like Netball. One simply can not blame the GS if the ball doesn't get there.

Hawkins ball was alway under pressure.. and on other days he may well kick a good 5 in a win and really the good or bad is the result of the mids. If Hawk misses goals ..I will and have screamed blue murder but today the issues were elsewhere.

Guys guys guys - stop getting angry its all a myth - we have the best win/loss record in the comp over the past 7 years and Scott already won a premiership. We perform just as well in finals and the MCG as Skilled.

Parsons is going to be the next big thing - just ask Vdubs. He does things you don't see OK and the club loves him hence giving him a huge contract.

Our small forwards are great and have been for years always applying pressure and kicking bags.

Our tactics at the MCG under pressure of finals is perfect - never falls to pieces either. Just look at the past 7 years how well we perform in high pressure games - our strategy is great and all our players stand up.

This is a random occurance its not like we lost to a s**t Essendon last year did we.

Scott knows what he is doing, his zone works great at the MCG.

Rucks don't matter either, thats why we have managed to find the biggest spuds possible and put them on our list since Ottens left. Dangerfield in the ruck was a genius move.

You are either taking the piss, or you are a flog!

And what's the point of bringing in Stanley when he doesn't play ruck in the VFL... That's why if we do replace a ruck it needs to be Abbott

Stanley is like the old game show... The Great Temptation.. he brings movement and agility .. Smith... does not. but id give Abbott a go.

Please tell me why.. Smith did the centre bounce then Blitz did the ruck around the ground?

Don't agree that that's how it played out mate, but even if it did - why is Smith in the side if he can't ruck around the ground? Blicavs is horrible in the ruck, so if he was preferred over Smith then that's a fair indictment on Smith.

Even when we had players on their own, in open space the kick was that poor that it let Essendon into the play - think of the kick to Danger in the first quarter where he probably could have received a free kick for being tripped, it should never have got to that stage if it was a better kick to him in the first place

Yep, to the credit of how Essendon pressured our ball movers, who had no time and space at all. They ran a lot harder both ways too.

Reiwoldt said that Essendon's pressure rating in the first half was 236 I think, league average is 180. Why aren't we all questioning the professionalism of AFL footballers? Why can't they ALL get to that level every week? 91 tackles by the Bombers FFS.

KRock is saying they missed Sav big time because he gives the team something to kick to.

Having said that where was Hawkins???
Up the ground playing a linking role like he often does - Sav generally plays deeper when he plays forward, while Hawkins does get up the ground more