Autopsy Round 11, 2023: Hawks nail the Saints.

"Blanck, let’s be honest, isn’t great as a key defender. Max King kicked four on him on Saturday, while in his previous two full matches this season, the Hawks have let in 13 goals to tall forwards, including five from Logan McDonald against Sydney in Round 2. He offers little with the ball, rarely intercepts, and in general struggles with probably the toughest job in footy: stopping the monsters."

Does this bloke watch footy?

Blanck gave away 1 maybe 2 goals to Max King, 1 was on Frost and 1 was a speccy whose direct opponent isn't clear.

Frost/Blanck both played on him, but it's easy to pot the youngster right?

Blanck's defensive loss % in 2023 is only 23% which is pretty good for a key defender. He has a lot of scope to improve, but he's doing his job currently.

What with all the focus on king who was frankly the third best forward on the ground

For f***s sake, Blanck has played, what, 10-12 games total, in arguably the toughest position on the ground? It's the same old story, when he has 30-40 games under his belt and he's a solid key defender, these blithering, short-sighted morons will eat their words and look like idiots....
Those same short sighted fools will be lording our mid season drafting in a year or two time, just like our trading in the premiership years. The new strength and conditioning bloke has been great for blanck

Trolls will use those MSDs to try and put a * on our next premiership. That, Tassie, and the tanking that never happened.

He has the athletic ability and strength, brilliant attitude. Needs more time.

Thought this was an interesting comment from Ross Lyon in his presser -

“If they’re the 17th team in the competition, the competition is not only in rude financial health, it’s also in rude health for competitiveness amongst teams”

Would’ve thought you just got out coached and your players well beaten mate - we haven’t beaten anyone of note until today
I read that as him praising us more than anything, tho?

Yes I agree. He is a work in progress and will only get better with more games. He frequently get the oppositions best forward. Its a tough gig. But he has the attributes to make it as a great full back

St Kilda v Hawthorn​

10 James Sicily (HAW)
8 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
6 Dylan Moore (HAW)
2 Mitch Lewis (HAW)
2 Jarman Impey (HAW)
1 Luke Breust (HAW)
1 Max King (STK)

Easy to pick the commentators who only watched the last 10 minutes. A number have mentioned how well we played in that period and not mention that we outplayed them most of the game

Easy to pick the commentators who only watched the last 10 minutes. A number have mentioned how well we played in that period and not mention that we outplayed them most ot the game
Saw multiple mentions that we "stole the win" so far.

he is very young and needs another 20-30 games before we can make judgements true ..esp as a key posi

What an afternoon it was Saturday at Marvel, delighted to see us rewarded with the late surge and get the W. We should have been 4 goals up at HT, the deserving side won. Best footy we've played in a long time.

Well, to some in the footy world, this was a gutsy effort. Just watching Footy Classified and, on Carro's Arrow, she has gushed an apoliogy to Sam Mitchell for accusing him of tanking, and complimenting him on his coaching style. I wonder when Purple will come out.

To quote her, "Sam, you were right and I was wrong"

Kudos to her for admitting it.

Jeez its been about 5 years since those munged kicks inside 50 resulted in marks.

Worpel is starting to mung those kicks into reasonable positions, which may just come from better understanding where the forwards will be. I'd say 6.5/10 his quick kicks go to a contest. Still frustrating when it goes to an opponent but at least it isn't every time now like previous years.