Banter TRTT Part 14: 2022 Goodbye (To 2023)

Not to sound like a w@nker.... but I know I do. I drive a a Merc AMG to Whyalla once a year. At times I go 150kms. It's a boring as * drive. I have a sore back at the end of it. Imagine driving a truck...every day.... at 100kms.... for 12 hours a day...every day... those guys deserve a medal.
Yeah

But at 75 years old?

What's wrong with the system where someone who is nearly ready for yearly license testing is still working that job?

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I agree, all true.

I'm just a bit shocked that someone is working ten years past retirement age driving a semi trailer, at an age where we start to distrust people from driving so much as a Hyundai Getz.

Ol mate sleepy Joe is driving the United states and is another decade older 🥴

Why isn't online poker for real money aloud in Australia... Dam pollies... Mind ya ******* business.
it used to annoy me that South Australia missed out on a lot of the sports betting type apps (they'd always say *excludes SA)

Same with ALDI not selling booze here

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah

But at 75 years old?

What's wrong with the system where someone who is nearly ready for yearly license testing is still working that job?

A lot of the owner drivers have to take on huge loans to buy their prime movers and re-mortgaging their house to upgrade. Think that might be the financial incentive for long haul drivers to stay in the game much longer than they should.

Barring a medical incident there is zero reason for the truckie to have not have seen the level crossing:

GCqY8m-boAAzMqz

And warning lights are activated as a train approaches well in advance of a driver reaching the crossing:

Screenshot 2024-01-01 at 11.17.14 am.png

Major Crash investigators have now charged the 75 year old Queensland truck driver with two counts of causing death by dangerous driving. He did not apply for bail and will appear in the Port Pirie Magistrates Court tomorrow.

I agree, all true.

I'm just a bit shocked that someone is working ten years past retirement age driving a semi trailer, at an age where we start to distrust people from driving so much as a Hyundai Getz.

Government have pushed up retirement age over the years to get the pension.
Old days everyone retired at 65, now if you was born around 1958 you can’t get pension till 67? and for young people today that will be at least 70 if not more for them.
Economically people are being forced to stay in the workforce longer especially if they are renting.
Your right tho, 75 is past driving trucks especially now when drivers are on a more strict timetable.

it used to annoy me that South Australia missed out on a lot of the sports betting type apps (they'd always say *excludes SA)

Same with ALDI not selling booze here

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Aldi sell booze in Perth, you get these beers and wines you have never heard of that are cheap but like everything you get what you pay for.

No pokies in WA though, except at the casino. Which is a good thing.
I’m not sure what the pokies are like now in SA, remember the old days when bus loads of pensioners used to travel to Broken hill to lose there money.
When they started in SA a lot of pubs who used to close early started to make money and employ more people.
I’m a bit 50/50 with them, I don’t like them myself and see them as a trap for people but like the saying goes a fool and there money will always part.

I’m not sure what the pokies are like now in SA, remember the old days when bus loads of pensioners used to travel to Broken hill to lose there money.
When they started in SA a lot of pubs who used to close early started to make money and employ more people.
I’m a bit 50/50 with them, I don’t like them myself and see them as a trap for people but like the saying goes a fool and there money will always part.

I don't know what it's like with the various forms of racing, but WA wins way more lotto prizes than its proportion of the national population, so that seems to be the gambler's choice here. Which is good for the charities the Lotteries Commission funds ;)

When I was a kid in the 80s, I recall Wentworth NSW was popular with South Australians as a destination for pokies.

They build their wank sheds to much more stringent codes over there. They'll be fine.
Not really.

The backup generators to Fukashima were in the basement. The first place to go under in a flood, or tsunami. That's why the place nearly had a meltdown.